IPL 2020: Rajasthan Royals’ Squad After Retention Deadline

Will Steve Smith lead Rajasthan to playoff contention in 2020?

1 min read
IPL 2020 Team Squad: Rajasthan Royals traded former captain  Ajinkya Rahane before the trade deadline on 14 November. 

Rajasthan will always be remembered as the inaugural champions of the IPL. Their win in the very first season was impressive and historic in equal measure, as they took down M.S. Dhoni’s Chennai. However, the subsequent years haven't been kind to the franchise.

They served a two year ban from the IPL alongside Chennai and have never competed for the title after their win in 2008. However, they have the pieces to go from 7th place last year to at least a playoff appearance this year.

Rajasthan have made a lot of room through their releases and will definitely be one of the most active teams in this year’s auction. Rajasthan released top bid getter in 2018 and 2019, Jaydev Unadkat along with players like Stuart Binny and Ashton Turner.

Rajasthan Royals’ Released Players

Aryaman Birla, Ashton Turner, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, Liam Livingstone, Oshane Thomas, Prashant Chopra, Rahul Tripathi, Shubham Ranjane, Stuart Binny, Sudhesan Midhun

Rajasthan Royals’ Current Squad

Ankit Rajpoot, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Mahipal Lomror, Manan Vohra, Mayank Markande, Rahul Tewatia, Riyan Parag, Sanju Samson, Shashank Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Steven Smith, Varun Aaron

Rajasthan Royals’ Player Slots Left

11 (Seven domestic, four overseas)

Money Spent

Rs 56.10 cr

Money Left

Rs 28.90 cr

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!