IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings’ Squad After Retention Deadline

Will Chennai be able to continue their consistency for another year?

1 min read
IPL 2020 Players: A look at what Chennai Super Kings’ squad looks like after the 2020 IPL auction retention deadline.

Even though Mumbai have more titles, Chennai is the city which enjoys the most IPL success. Despite two years without a team, Chennai Super Kings are one of the most succesful teams in the hitsory of the IPL. Three titles and five runners up finishes indicate the consistency with which Chennai plays every year.

The team rarely makes big changes before the auction, and it is a trend that last year’s runners up have continued this year.

The only notable releases by Chennai are Sam Billings and David Wiley. The team has retained the players they usually keep, including captain and franchise face M.S. Dhoni, who hasn’t played professional cricket since the ICC World Cup this summer.

Chennai Super Kings’ Released Players

Chaitanya Bishnoi, David Willey, Dhruv Shorey, Mohit Sharma, Sam Billings, Scott Kuggeleijn

Chennai Super Kings’ Current Squad

Ambati Rayudu , KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Jagadeesan Narayan, Karn Sharma, Kedar Jadhav, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Monu Singh, MS Dhoni, M Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina

Chennai Super Kings’ Players Slots Left

Five (three domestic, two overseas)

Money Spent

Rs 70.40 cr

Money Left

Rs 14.60 cr

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!