IPL 2019 Final: MI–CSK to Battle it Out for 4th Title on Sunday
This will be the fourth IPL final between MI and CSK.
This will be the fourth IPL final between MI and CSK.(Photo: BCCI/IPL)

IPL 2019 Final: MI–CSK to Battle it Out for 4th Title on Sunday


  • Mumbai Indians take on Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2019 Final on Sunday, 12 May
  • MI have won all three matches against CSK this year, including the first qualifier
  • MI has defeated CSK in the two of the previous three finals between the two teams

Familiar foes and the two most successful teams of the IPL - Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings take on each other in the IPL 2019 final on Sunday, 12 May in Hyderabad, following a rather eventful season that produced some unprecedented moments on the field.

It can't be disputed that Mumbai go into the final as the favourites, having beaten CSK as many as three times earlier in the tournament including the first Qualifier played at Chennai on Tuesday, 7 May.

However, statistics count for little going into the title fight with both teams being in the situation multiple times in the past.

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai can certainly take confidence out of the fact that they have won three out of the four finals they have been a part of, including the two against CSK in 2013 and 2015.

Also Read : MI, CSK Have Played 3 Finals Among Them: What the Results Show

For three-time champions CSK, who have entered their eighth final, it has been another remarkable season after last year’s heroics when they made a triumphant return having serving a two-year suspension.

Whatever the outcome may be, the final on Sunday, 12 May will add another memorable chapter to their longtime rivalry.

CSK will have to redraw their plans against Mumbai, who have beaten them convincingly three times this season.

Rohit and Co. have dealt with CSK’s spin threat smartly while other teams’ batsmen struggled against the experience trio of Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh and Ravindra Jadeja. CSK pacer Deepak Chahar too has been impressive with 19 wickets so far.

Going into the Qualifier 2, the lack of runs from Shane Watson's bat was a concern but he regained his touch with a 32-ball 50 against Delhi Capitals.

Mumbai, on the other hand, will be well rested following a four-day break and backing themselves for a fourth win over Dhoni's side this season and fourth IPL title.

Also Read : CSK vs MI Head-to-Head: History & Latest Form in Mumbai’s Favour


Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Rituraj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, K M Asif, Deepak Chahar, N Jagadeesan, Scott Kuggeleijn.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Anmolpreet Singh, Siddhesh Lad, Ankul Roy, Evin Lewis, Pankaj Jaiswal, Ben Cutting, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran, Jayant Yadav, Beuran Hendricks and Lasith Malinga

(The Quint is now available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Follow our IPL section for more stories.

    Also Watch