IPL 2020: Kolkata Knight Riders’ Squad After Retention Deadline

Can Kolkata improve their team heading into the next season of the IPL?

1 min read
IPL 2020 Kolkata Knight Riders: The Kolkata Knight Riders missed the playoffs in 2019 on net run rate.

Along with Chennai and Mumbai, Kolkata is one of the few teams to have enjoyed success in the IPL. The winners from 2012 and 2014 have always been run well and usually compete for the title every year.

KKR slipped last year and couldn’t even make it to the playoffs. This essentially ensured that there would be changes to the squad to better equip them for a title run this season.

Kolkata has seen their team shaken up on multiple occasions before, and there have been significant changes this year too. The likes of Carlos Brathwaite, Robin Uthappa and Piyush Chawla have all be released and the franchise has opened up slots for 11 players for the upcoming auction.

KKR Released Players

Anrich Nortje, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Lynn, Joe Denly, KC Cariappa, Matt Kelly, Nikhil Naik, Piyush Chawla, Prithvi Raj Yarra, Robin Uthappa, Shrikant Mundhe

KKR’s Final Squad

Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Harry Gurney, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Siddhesh Lad, Sunil Narine

KKR Player Slots Left

11 (seven domestic, four overseas)

KKR’s Money Spent

Rs 49.35 cr

KKR’s Purse Remaining

Rs 35.65 cr

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!