Haryana Election: Sandeep Leads in Pehowa, Yogeshwar, Babita Trail

Wrestlers Yogeshwar and Babita, and ex-hockey captain Sandeep are contesting from seats BJP has never won before.

1 min read
Three Indian sportspersons – Yogeshwar Dutt, Babita Phogat and Sandeep Singh – are contesting for BJP in the Haryana assemble elections.

Three Indian sportspersons – Yogeshwar Dutt, Babita Phogat and Sandeep Singh – are contesting the Haryana Assembly elections on Bharatiya Janata Party tickets. The counting for the polls began on Thursday, 24 October.

Wrestlers Yogeshwar and Babita, along with ex-hockey captain Sandeep are all contesting from seats that the party has never won before.

While all three candidates were leading in their seats earlier during the day, wrestlers-turned-politicians Yogeshwar Dutt and Babita Phogat are now trailing in their respective constituencies.

Dutt trails the Congress' Sri Krishan Hooda in the Baroda constituency in Sonipat, while Babita is trailing Independent candidate Sombir and JJP’s Satpal Sangwan in Dadri.

Sandeep Singh in the Pehowa constituency continued his lead.

Seven ministers are trailing as both the ruling BJP and the Congress are locked in a tough contest with no party looking set to attain majority on its own in the 90-member Assembly, according to the latest trends.

The BJP, which had set a target of winning 75 seats ahead of the polls, is leading in 38 seats, while the Congress is ahead in 32 constituencies. The fledgling Jannayak Janta Party, which fought its maiden Assembly polls, is also ahead in 10 seats.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!