2022 WC Draw: Spain v Ger, Arg v Mex, Suarez v Ronaldo Among Interesting Games

Brazil are in Group G with Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon.

3 min read
2022 WC Draw: Spain v Ger, Arg v Mex, Suarez v Ronaldo Among Interesting Games

Runner-up at the Euros, England have been drawn in the same been drawn in the same group as USA and Iran, along with the winner of the winner of Wales' playoff match against Ukraine or Scotland in Group B at the 2022 FIFA World Cup that will be played in Qatar.

Luis Suarez and Uruguay will also be up against Ghana, in what is a rematch of the dramatic quarter-final from the 2010 edition of the tournament, along with Cristiano Ronaldo led Portugal and South Korea.

South American champions Lionel Messi and Argentina are in Group C with Mexico, Poland and Saudi Arabia while Brazil are with Switzerland, Serbia and Cameroon in Group G.

Elsewhere, hosts Qatar will face Ecuador in the opening match of the World Cup and will also meet Netherlands and Senegal in Group A. England will also be in action in Group B on the opening day against Iran on 21 November.

Defending champions France will face Christian Eriksen led Denmark, Tunisia and the winner of the playoff between Peru and the UAE or Australia.

In Group E, Spain, with a very new look team, are paired with 2014 world champions Germany alongside Japan and the winner of Costa Rica's playoff against New Zealand. Meanwhile Belgium are in Group F with Canada, Morocco and Croatia.

This is also the fifth World Cup for both superstars Messi and Ronaldo, and possibly their last as well.

A total of eight groups, each featuring four teams, will compete in the first round of the competition, which begins on 21 November. A total of 29 of the 32 teams that will compete in the tournament have been confirmed.

Two of the remaining teams will be decided during the Intercontinental Play-offs that take place on 13 and 14 June, with the final place decided by a play-off between Wales and either Scotland or Ukraine.

World Cup Groups

Group A: Qatar, Netherlands, Senegal, Ecuador

Hosts Qatar will kick off the tournament on home soil against Ecuador, who finished fourth in the South American qualifying stage. The two teams are joined in Group A by 2022 AFCON champions Senegal and European powerhouses the Netherlands, who were among the group of second seeds for this year's tournament.

Group B: England, USA, Iran, Scotland/Wales/Ukraine

Group B will see 1966 World Cup champions England begin their campaign against Iran. The USA, who finished third in their qualifying group behind Canada and Mexico, were also drawn in Group B with the fourth spot to go to the winner of a European Play-off between Wales or Scotland/Ukraine.

Group C: Argentina, Mexico, Poland, Saudi Arabia

Lionel Messi's Argentina were drawn into Group C, where they will face Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland. Argentina have won the tournament twice in their history, including a home victory in 1978 and a win on the soil of this year's opponents Mexico in 1986. They will be looking for more glory in what may well be Messi's final chance to lift the World Cup.

Group D: France, Denmark, Tunisia, UAE/Australia/Peru

Group D sees defending champions and two-time World Cup winners France face off against Euro 92 champions Denmark and African powerhouses Tunisia. The final team in the group will be decided in the first Intercontinental Play-off, with the United Arab Emirates, Australia and Peru all in the reckoning.

Group E: Spain, Germany, Japan, Costa Rica/New Zealand

In what may be the most challenging group in the tournament, 2010 champions Spain have been drawn to play four-time champions Germany.

Japan, who finished second in their qualifying group behind Saudi Arabia, will provide stern competition in Group E, with the final spot to be decided after the second Intercontinental Play-off between Costa Rica and New Zealand.

Group F: Belgium, Croatia, Morocco, Canada

After securing a historic first qualification in 36 years, Canada will be joined by Belgium, ranked second in the world, 2018 finalists Croatia and Morocco in a Group F that looks to be one of the most competitive of the tournament.

Group G: Brazil, Switzerland, Serbia, Cameroon

Brazil have lifted the World Cup on a record five occasions. If they are to do so again they will first need to navigate their way past three strong teams in Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon. The Seleção are currently ranked first in the world ranking, having won their qualifying group ahead of neighbours and long-time rivals Argentina.

Group H: Portugal, Uruguay, South Korea, Ghana

Group H will feature Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea, with four strong nations all vying for qualification to the knockout rounds.

Uruguay have lifted the trophy on two occasions in their history, while Portugal can rely on the talents of talisman Cristiano Ronaldo, the leading all-time goalscorer in men's international football, as they aim to win the ultimate prize in men's football.

(With IANS Inputs)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!