Virender Sehwag Picks His 15-Member Indian Squad ICC World Cup

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag retained 7 players from India’s 2015 World Cup squad.

Updated14 Apr 2019, 03:53 AM IST
1 min read

Just before the BCCI announces the Indian squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup, putting to rest all the speculations so far, former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag picked his team for the quadrennial tournament.

Former opener Sehwag took to social media to post his 15-member Indians squad for the 2019 World Cup, starting 30 May in England.

Interestingly, he also posted the team from 2015 World Cup, showing he had retained seven players from that squad while 8 were replacements!

The seven players he retained were Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohd Shami. The eight new players were, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Vijay Shankar.

India's 15-member squad for the ICC World Cup will be announced by the All-India Selection Committee on 15 April. The Indian selectors, chaired by MSK Prasad, will be meeting in Mumbai to take a final call on the squad which will be bound for England to play the World Cup later this year.

Currently, the Indians cricketers are playing the Indian Premier League and are busy with their respective franchises. The selectors are closely monitoring the Indian Premier League as couple of spots in the playing XI are still undecided and great form in the IPL could decide which two players are included in the final list of 15.

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

The Quint is now available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, Click here to join.

Published: 13 Apr 2019, 02:44 PM IST

Never Miss Out

Stay tuned with our weekly recap of what’s hot & cool by The Quint.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!