Shah Rukh Khan, GMR Buy Teams in South Africa’s T20 League

Shah Rukh Khan owns the Cape Town Franchise with JP Duminy as their marquee player.

1 min read
Shah Rukh Khan  (Photo: PTI)

Cricket South Africa launched its new T20 Global League in London on Monday, announcing the host cities and owners of the eight teams ahead of the player draft on 19 August.

The owners include film actor and producer Shah Rukh Khan, who also has a stake in the Indian Premier League side Kolkata Knight Riders, and the GMR Group, who own the Delhi Daredevils.

According to a report on Cricket365, Shah Rukh Khan owns the Cape Town Franchise with JP Duminy as their marquee player, while GMR Group own the Johannesburg franchise with Kagiso Rabada as the marquee player.

We are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success
Chris Nenzani, President of Cricket South Africa

Teams will be hosted in eight centres around South Africa – Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth, Stellenbosch and Benoni.

Marquee players already signed up include former England batsman Kevin Pietersen, current England limited overs players Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy, and ex-internationals Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) and Chris Gayle (West Indies).

Almost 400 players from 10 countries have confirmed their interest in being part of the draft.

(with inputs from Reuters)

(This admission season, The Quint got experts from on board to answer all your college-related queries. Send us your questions at

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!