Prasidh, Suryakumar Earn Maiden ODI Call-Ups for England Series

Suryakumar Yadav, who received his first call-up for India in the T20I series is also part of the ODI squad.

2 min read
Suryakumar Yadav on the attack in the 4th T20I against England. 

After a 14-wicket haul in the Vijay Hazare Trophy for Karnataka, fast bowler Prasidh Krishna has received his maiden call-up for the Indian team. Suryakumar Yadav, who received his first call-up for the T20I series is also part of the squad, however Ishan Kishan has not been included.

Krishna was named in India squad for the three-match ODI series against England beginning 23 March in Pune. A part of the Kolkata Knight Riders set-up since 2018, Krishna has played 24 games for them, picking 18 wickets at an economy rate of 9.33.

The BCCI on Friday announced the ODI squad.

The last time India played ODI cricket was during the tour of Australia where the squad had Mayank Agarwal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Manish Pandey, Navdeep Saini and Sanju Samson, all of whom are missing from the line-up this time.

Rohit Sharma, who was back in India recovering from injury then, is back in the frame now, as the designated vice-captain, while Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Siraj have also been drafted in.

Prithvi Shaw and Devdutt Padikkal, both of whom had fantastic Vijay Hazare Trophy campaigns and scored bagfuls of runs were not picked for the series, whereas Shubman Gill, who was part of the Test series against England has been brought in.

Shaw and Padikkal had top-scored in the tournament, with 827 and 737 runs respectively.

Prasidh, Suryakumar Earn Maiden ODI Call-Ups for England Series
Image: BCCI

Of the players missing, Bumrah was granted leave for the last Test against England and the entire white-ball leg of the series because of his wedding, while Shami is yet to recover from a fractured wrist. Ravindra Jadeja is also not fully match-fit and misses out on this series.

Manish Pandey, too, has been nursing a tennis-elbow condition, which forced him to miss the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20s, though he has since played two games for Karnataka in the 50-over Vijay Hazare Trophy.

India’s ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!