36 Players Have Rs 2 Crore Base Price in IPL 2018 Auction: Report
File photo of Ravichandran Ashwin. 
File photo of Ravichandran Ashwin. (Photo: BCCI)

36 Players Have Rs 2 Crore Base Price in IPL 2018 Auction: Report

A total of 36 players including Shikhar Dhawan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ben Stokes have reportedly listed their base price as Rs 2 crore – the maximum any player can pick – for the 2018 IPL auction. While no official announcement has been made by organisers, the final list of pools for the auction will be prepared once all eight franchises submit the names of players they'll be bidding for, reported Espncricinfo.

The Indian Premier League on Saturday, 13 January, announced that a total of 1,122 players, including the likes of Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh, Joe Root and Shane Watson have signed up on expected lines to be part of the upcoming IPL auction.

Also Read : IPL 2018: Yuvraj, Gayle, Ashwin Among 1,122 Registered for Auction

The IPL 2018 auction is scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on 27 and 28 January. This season will see the return of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, teams that had been suspended for two years due to alleged betting and spot-fixing.

Among the list of players valued at Rs 2 crore is Afghanistan bowler Rashid Khan, who only made his IPL debut last season. India’s red-ball specialist Ashwin, who missed out on the last season, is also part of the highest priced pool.

Following is the list of players under the base price of Rs 2 crore, Rs 1.5 crore and Rs 1 crore, according to the report.

Rs 2 crore

Indian players: R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Karn Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa.
Overseas players: Rashid Khan, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Cameron White, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock, Colin Ingram, Angelo Mathews, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard.

Rs 1.5 crore

Aaron Finch, Amit Mishra, David Miller, Evin Lewis, Faf du Plessis, Harry Gurney, Hashim Amla, Jason Holder, Jason Roy, Jaydev Unadkat, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Kagiso Rabada, Kane Williamson, Kuldeep Yadav, Kyle Abbott, Lendl Simmons, Mark Wood, Michael Klinger, Moeen Ali, Mohit Sharma, Moises Henriques, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Nathan Lyon, Peter Handscomb, Ravi Bopara, Shaun Marsh, Steven Finn, Travis Head, Trent Boult and Washington Sundar.

Rs 1 crore

Adam Zampa, Alex Hales, Andrew Tye, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Jordan, Dale Steyn, Daniel Christian, Dwayne Smith, Jason Behrendorff, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Manish Pandey, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Imran Tahir, Mustafizur Rahman, Parthiv Patel, Piyush Chawla, Sam Billings, Samuel Badree, Sanju Samson, Shakib Al Hasan, Shane Watson, Tim Southee, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar and Wriddhiman Saha.

Also Read : IPL 2018: Franchises Announce Names of Retained Players

(We Indians have much to talk about these days. But what would you tell India if you had the chance? Pick up the phone and write or record your Letter To India. Don’t be silent, tell her how you feel. Mail us your letter at lettertoindia@thequint.com. We’ll make sure India gets your message.)

(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to TheQuint.com/WhatsApp and hit the Subscribe button.)

Follow our Cricket section for more stories.

    Also Watch