Delhi T20I: Bangladesh Register First-Ever T20I Win Over India

Latest updates from India’s first T20 International against Bangladesh at Delhi

2 min read
India vs Bangladesh Delhi T20I: Latest score updates from India’s first T20 International at Delhi.

Mushfiqur Rahim scores an unbeaten 60 to lead Bangladesh to their first-ever T20I victory over India at Delhi.

After restricting India to 148/6, the visitors reached their target with seven wickets in hand and three balls to spare. Captain Mahmudullah remained unbeaten on 15.

Earlier, pacer Deepak Chahar dismissed opener Liton Das for 7 on the fifth ball of the innings after India posted 148/6 in their 20 overs against Bangladesh.

Debutant Mohammad Naim was then caught out at long on for 26 by Shikhar Dhawan off a delivery by Chahal, ending his 46-run stand with Soumya Sarkar.

Sarkar and Mushfiqur Rahim stitched a 60-run stand before Khaleel Ahmed cleaned up Sarkar for 39 to give India a much-needed breakthrough.

Delhi T20I: Bangladesh Register First-Ever T20I Win Over India
(Photo: AP)

India Post 148/6

Stand-in captain and opener Rohit Sharma – who broke MS Dhoni’s record for playing most T20Is for India as he stepped onto the field – was trapped lbw by Shafiul Islam for 10 on the sixth ball of the day. KL Rahul (15) and Shreyas Iyer (22) then were both caught out off deliveries by Aminul Islam (2/22).

Opener Shikhar Dhawan scored a 41-ball 42 before getting run out in a mix-up with Rishabh Pant. After hitting a shot to midwicket, Rishabh Pant called Dhawan for a second run but soon realised he won’t make it. Both batsmen ran back to the crease but alas, the well-set opener didn’t make it.

In the next over, debutant Shivam Dube was caught and bowled by Afif Hossain for 1.

After Pant fell for 27, Krunal Pandya (15*) and Washington Sundar (14*) stitched an undefeated 28-run stand, smashing 30 runs in the last two overs, to help India post 148 for 6.


Bangladesh Won Toss, Chose to Field

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and opted to field against India in the first T20 International at Delhi.

With Virat Kohli rested, Rohit Sharma is leading the hosts in the three-match series and on Sunday, surpassed MS Dhoni for playing most T20Is for India.

Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube was handed his India cap before the start of the game. Batsman Mohammad Naim made his debut for Bangladesh.

Playing XI

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(wicketkeeper), Krunal Pandya, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, K Khaleel Ahmed.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim(wicketkeeper), Mahmudullah(captain), Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!