Mohammed Shami Ruled Out of Remaining Australia Tests

The teams, with India without Kohli, will head to Melbourne for the Boxing Day Test, starting on 26 December.

1 min read
Mohammed Shami walks off the field after injuring his arm in Adelaide. 

In what comes as a big blow to the Indian cricket team, senior fast bowler Mohammed Shami has been ruled out of the final three Tests against Australia, ESPNCricinfo reported.

During India's forgettable innings that ended on 36 in the pink-ball Test, Shami, who came in at No 11, was hit on the right arm by a short delivery from Pat Cummins.

He tried to continue batting, but later signalled his inability to continue, thereby bringing down curtains on India's innings for 36-9. And it was only after the scans, carried out later in the day, that it was confirmed that he had suffered a fracture on his right forearm.

The BCCI are yet to make an announcement on the issue.

India lost the first Test by eight wickets after registering their lowest-ever Test total. They set the Aussies a target of 90 on Day Three of the Test, and the hosts chased that with ease, with Joe Burns scoring an unbeaten fifty.

The teams, with India without Virat Kohli, will head to Melbourne to play the Boxing Day Test, starting on 26 December at the MCG.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!