India vs Aus 4th Test: Australia Elect to Bat, India Rest Siraj & Play Shami

India lead the four match series 2-1, having already retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

1 min read
India vs Aus 4th Test: Australia Elect to Bat, India Rest Siraj & Play Shami
Hindi Female

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

The fourth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar series is now underway at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium and Aussie stand-in skipper Steve Smith has won the toss and elected to bat first. The visitors are continuing with the same XI that beat India in the third Test at Indore.

"We are going to have a bat, playing with the same team. Looks like a nice surface, does look like a good wicket. The guys performed well last week," Smith said at the toss.

Rohit Sharma's India lead the four match series 2-1 and have made one change, brining in Mohammed Shami for Siraj who has been rested.

"We would have batted first. We know what needs to be done. We need to regroup as a team, you can reflect on so many things. Not the surface what we saw in the first three Tests, looks like a good pitch, I hope it stays the same for all five days," said Rohit Sharma.



India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Australia: Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith (capt), Peter Handscomb, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Todd Murphy, Nathan Lyon, Matthew Kuhnemann.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from sports and cricket

Topics:  Indian Cricket Team 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More