ICC Announces Qualification Procedure for T20 World Cup 2021

The ICC has announced the qualification criteria for the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.

1 min read
The ICC has announced the qualification criteria for the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday confirmed the qualification process for the additional ICC Mens T20 World Cup that will take place in 2021 in India.

The 16-team T20 World Cup 2021, which replaces a previously scheduled eight-team ICC Champions Trophy, will see 11 regional qualification events take place across the five ICC regions (Africa, Americas, Asia, East-Asia Pacific and Europe) with eight teams progressing to one of two global qualifying events.

Additionally, the bottom four teams from the T20 World Cup 2020 will join the regional qualifiers in the global qualification events along with the next four best T20I ranked teams as of 1 January 2020: Zimbabwe, Nepal, UAE and Hong Kong.

This means 16 teams will compete for four T20 World Cup spots in two global qualifiers with the top two teams from each progressing to the event proper in 2021.

The 12 teams, which make round two of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia will gain automatic entry into the event the following year.

All Members who meet the ICC Event Participation Criteria (EPPC) will be eligible to participate in the qualification for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!