JP Duminy to Lead South Africa in T20 Series Against India

Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram and Imran Tahir are rested while AB de Villiers is named in the T20 squad.

1 min read
JP Duminy plays a sweep shot as MS Dhoni looks on.

JP Duminy will captain a South Africa T20 squad with three new players to take on India in three matches later this month, Cricket South Africa announced on Tuesday.

Duminy replaces the injured Faf du Plessis as skipper as selector Linda Zondi said Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram and Imran Tahir would be rested but AB de Villiers would play.

The new players in the 14-man squad are batsman Christiaan Jonker, wicket-keeper Heinrich Klaasen and fast bowler Junior Dala.

South Africa host India in T20 clashes at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on 18 February, in Pretoria on 21 February and in Cape Town three days later.

Squad: JP Duminy (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!