BCCI Announce Indian Women’s Central Contracts: Full List

Shafali Verma moved up a notch while Ekta Bisht and Veda Krishnamurthy missed out on a national contract. 

2 min read
The BCCI on Wednesday announced the Annual Player Contracts for India’s women’s team for the period from October 2020 to September 2021. 

The BCCI released the central contracts for the Indian women’s cricket team for the season 2020-21. The value of the retainers remain unchanged, with those in Grade A, the highest bracket, taking home INR 50 lakh. Grade B and Grade C are valued at INR 30 lakh and INR 10 lakh respectively.

Seniors Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav have maintained their slots in the Grade A bracket, while Shafali Verma, the teenage batting sensation, has levelled up from Category C to B. The buccaneering opener recently earned her maiden ODI and Test call-up for the forthcoming tour to England.

The BCCI also rewarded Punam Raut for her glittering performances against South Africa in March this year as she scored a couple of half-centuries and her third ton in the limited-overs format. Raut has been upgraded from Grade C to B, while left-armer Rajeshwari Gayakwad, who proved a handful for the Protea batters, has made a similar ascend.

Speedster Shikha Pandey, who was surprisingly snubbed from the ODIs and T20Is against South Africa, has retained her Grade B contract. Richa Ghosh, who broke into the Indian team for the T20 World Cup in 2020 on the back of eye-catching performances in the U-19 setup and the Challenger Trophy, has been handed a Grade C contract. She is accompanied by Mansi Joshi, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Harleen Deol, and Priya Punia in the third tier.

Shafali Verma’s promotion was the highlight of India’s fresh contracts. 
Shafali Verma’s promotion was the highlight of India’s fresh contracts. 
Image: Aroop Mishra/The Quint

A notable absentee from the latest round of central contracts is Veda Krishnamurthy. She hasn't played the 50-over format for India since April 2018 and her last T20I appearance came in early 2020 at the T20 World Cup.

Anuja Patil, D Hemlatha and Ekta Bisht didn’t crack a contract either as the overall list was trimmed from 22 to 19 players. However, the exclusion of Bisht is particularly puzzling as the senior left-arm orthodox is a member of all three squads for India's upcoming tour of England.

Experienced campaigners Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami, who no longer play the shortest format, have held onto the Grade B contract alongside youngsters Taniya Bhatia, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadav.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!