Join Us On:

4 India Women’s Cricketers to Play The Hundred as BCCI Grants NOC

Teams with a vacant overseas spot are Southern Brave, London Spirit, Manchester Originals & Northern Superchargers.

1 min read
4 India Women’s Cricketers to Play The Hundred as BCCI Grants NOC
Hindi Female

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

The BCCI have given four Indian women’s cricketers No Objection Certificates to play The Hundred organised by the ECB. The tournament begins on 21 July and is an 8-team affair.

A report in ESPNCricinfo says that the BCCI has informed their English counterparts of the move and the official announcements are expected soon by the concerned teams.


The schedule means that the Indian players involved in the tournament will have to extend their stay in UK after India’s multi-format tour beginning 16 June.

Previously, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma were part of the now defunct Super League, the ECB organised tournament that made way for The Hundred.

There are only 4 spots remaining on the roster for the overseas women’s cricketers which also features Ellyse Perry among 11 Australian cricketers.

The 4 teams with a vacant overseas spot each are Southern Brave, London Spirit, Manchester Originals and Northern Superchargers.

Postponed last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Hundred will begin with a game between the women’s teams of the Oval Invincibles and Manchester Originals in London before their respective men's sides meet the next day.

Some of the big overseas names in the tournament include Sophie Devine (Birmingham Phoenix), Deandra Dottin (London Spirit), Marizanne Kapp (Oval Invincibles), and Meg Lanning (Welsh Fire).

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from sports and cricket

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More