A look at the different levels of events in the BWF World Tour and how the prize money is distributed.
A look at the different levels of events in the BWF World Tour and how the prize money is distributed.(Photo: AP)
  • 1. What is the BWF World Tour?
  • 2. How are events divided in this new Tour?
  • 3. What are the different events and their prize money?
What Are The Different Categories of Events In A Badminton Season?

From the years 2016 and 2017 when Indians were a force on the badminton circuit and either PV Sindhu or Kidambi Srikanth was winning tournaments on a regular basis, to now, when Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty’s men’s doubles win at the Thailand Open has us all celebrating – there’s a lot that’s changed on the BWF circuit than just India’s ability to finish on the podium.

While Sindhu’s big wins came in the India Open Superseries and the Korea Open Superseries, Srikanth achieved a rare feat of becoming the first Indian to win 4 Superseries titles in one single season. However, at the start of the 2018 season, the ‘Superseries’ suffix disappeared from the BWF calendar as the sport introduced the ‘HSBC BWF World Tour’.

So, how have things changed in badminton? How are tournaments categorised? Here are some answers.

  • 1. What is the BWF World Tour?

    For ten years – from 2007 to 2017 – the badminton season consisted mostly of two types of events, the BWF Superseries and the BWF Grand Prix.

    In March 2017 the sport’s governing body voted to change the structure of the season and bring both its flagship events under one umbrella and thus came to life the ‘BWF World Tour’.

    Under the new tour format, there are now 37 tournaments in a season that have been divided into six ‘levels’ based on the host country and the prize money on offer. It was also made mandatory for the top 15 singles players and the top 10 doubles pairs to play a minimum of 12 events in a season or face a penalty.

    The BWF World Tour kicked off at the start of the 2018 season and will be used at least till 2021.


Follow our Badminton section for more stories.