Nobel Prize in Physics Goes To...

This year’s Nobel Prize for physics honours those whose inventions revolutionised laser physics.

1 min read
Meet the winners of the Nobel Prize in physics!

And the winners for this year’s Nobel Prize in physics are Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland.

Ashkin has been awarded “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems.” Mourou and Strickland have been awarded “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.”

The Nobel Prize for physics honours researchers for discoveries in phenomena as enormous as The Big Bang and as tiny as single particles of light. The 9-million-kronor ($1.01 million) prize is decided by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Last year’s physics prize went to three Americans who used abstruse theory and ingenious equipment design to detect the faint ripples in the universe called gravitational waves.

This Year’s Winners – So Far

On Monday, American James Allison and Japan's Tasuku Honjo won the Nobel medicine prize for groundbreaking work in fighting cancer with the body's own immune system.

The Nobel chemistry prize comes Wednesday, followed by the peace prize on Friday. The economics prize, which is not technically a Nobel, will be announced 8 October.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!