Gravitational Wave Scientists Win 2017 Nobel Physics Prize

Scientists Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne have won the 2017 Nobel Prize for Physics.

1 min read
In this 11 February 2016 file photo, Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) Co-Founder Rainer Weiss, left, and Kip Thorne, right, hug on stage during a news conference at the National Press Club in Washington, USA. 

Scientists Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne won the 2017 Nobel Prize for Physics for decisive contributions in the observation of gravitational waves, the award-giving body said on Tuesday.

"This is something completely new and different, opening up unseen worlds," the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement on awarding the 9 million Swedish crown ($1.1 million) prize.

A wealth of discoveries awaits those who succeed in capturing the waves and interpreting their message.
Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in its statement

Physics is the second of this year's crop of Nobel Prizes and comes after Americans –Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael Young were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine on Monday.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!