Seven Former JD(S) MLAs Join Congress in Karnataka

The rebel MLAs had cross-voted in favour of Congress candidates in the 23 March Rajya Sabha biennial election.

Published25 Mar 2018, 05:07 PM IST
1 min read

In a blow to the JD(S) headed by former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, seven rebel former party MLAs joined the ruling Congress on Sunday, 25 March, in the presence of party president Rahul Gandhi.

The rebel MLAs had resigned from Karnataka legislative Assembly on Saturday, a day after they cross-voted in favour of Congress candidates in the 23 March Rajya Sabha biennial election in the state.

Zameer Ahmed Khan, Chaluvaraya Swamy, Iqbal Ansari, Balakrishna, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda, Bheema Nayak and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy were welcomed into the party fold by Gandhi at a public rally in Mysuru in poll-bound Karnataka.

Along with them, former JD(S) MLCs MC Nanaiah, Sarovar Srinivas and B Ramakrishna also joined the Congress.

The votes cast by seven JD(S) rebel MLAs in the Rajya Sabha biennial election and also the support of independents had helped the Congress win the third seat as a bonus, though it had the strength only to bag two seats for sure.

Despite the shortfall in its strength with 37 members, including seven rebels, as against the required 44 votes, the JD(S) had also fielded its candidate, but boycotted the poll midway alleging electoral malpractice by the Congress in "collusion" with the returning officer.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!