BJP bags 11 of 24 Seats in Bihar Legislative Council Polls

NDA bagged 11 of the 24 Legislative Council seats on which elections were held.

1 min read

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

In a big blow to the RJD-JDU alliance in Bihar, BJP bagged 11 seats out of 24 in the Bihar Legislative Council elections. The rival JD(U)-RJD combine was pushed to second with just eight seats.

BJP described the Council’s poll results as a defeat of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s reign of “corruption, crime and arrogance” and a “signal” of its victory in the assembly election. Results of couple of seats are still awaited.

The polling had taken place for 24 seats of the Legislative Council from local bodies on July 7 last.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from news and politics

Topics:  BJP   Bihar politics   JDU RJD alliance 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News