Nagaland Unrest: Army Deployed in Wake of Protests Over ULB Quota

Office of the Municipal Council set ablaze. (Photo: <b>The Quint</b>)
Office of the Municipal Council set ablaze. (Photo: The Quint)

Nagaland Unrest: Army Deployed in Wake of Protests Over ULB Quota

Five army columns were deployed to aid the Civil Authority in Kohima to bring the situation under control in Dimapur.

Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang on 2 February rejected the demand for his government’s resignation following the death of two persons in anti-ULB poll agitation in Dimapur and appealed to the people to stop violence and not fall prey to rumour mongers.

On Thursday, a private property of Nagaland Chief Minister, TR Zeliang was set ablaze by protesters. Earlier, over a thousand Naga tribal protesters set fire to the Kohima Municipal Office and the Directorate of Transport office to protest against Zeliang’s refusal to resign.

The protesters mostly consisted of traditionalists of Naga tribal groups who demand that the 33 percent reservation for women in the Urban Local Bodies (ULB) elections be rolled back.

The protesting groups had given Zeliang an ultimatum to resign by 4 pm, NDTV reported.

Succumbing to the pressure, the CM declared the “ULB election process presently in force as null and void”.

(Photo: <b>The Quint</b>)
(Photo: The Quint)

Also Read: Nagaland: Two Killed in Clashes Over Women’s Quota in ULB Polls

The violence erupted after bodies of two people, killed in police firing in Dimapur on Tuesday, arrived. The two youths identified as Khriesavizo Avizo Metha and Bendangnungsang have been declared “Naga martyrs”.

With the mob demanding that the bodies be paraded before the residences of CM Zeliang and ruling NPF Party President Dr Shurhozelie, the NTAC constituted a committee to take up the matter with the government.

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter/<a href="">@TNT_Magazine</a>)
(Photo Courtesy: Twitter/@TNT_Magazine)

The committee was formed at an extraordinary emergency meeting held at Angami Public Organisation (APO) office, an NTAC spokesman said.

The Committee comprises seven tribal organisations – Zeliang, Chakhesang, Ao, Pochury, Rengma, Sumi, Lotha and Eastern Nagaland Public Organisation (ENPO) Kohima, representing six tribes from its region.

(Source: NDTV and PTI)

(The Quint is now available on Telegram and WhatsApp. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to our Telegram and WhatsApp channels)

Follow our Politics section for more stories.

    Also Watch