Shivraj Chouhan Wins Confidence Motion to Begin 4th Term as MP CM

Catch all the live updates on the Madhya Pradesh political crisis here. 

20 min read
BJP leaders Shivraj Singh Chouhan, VD Sharma, Gopal Bhargava and others celebrate after Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath resigned from his post.

Bharatiya Janata Party's Shivraj Singh Chouhan on Tuesday, 24 March, won the confidence motion in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly. Not a single Congress MLA was present in the House for voting.

He took oath as the chief minister on Monday at Raj Bhavan in Bhopal. He was earlier elected the leader of the BJP legislative party, at a meeting held at the party office.

Following this, PM Narendra Modi congratulated him on Twitter, calling him an “able and experienced administrator who is extremely passionate about MP’s development.”

  • Shivraj Singh Chouhan becomes CM of the state for the fourth time

  • “BJP has murdered democracy... They have betrayed the people of MP,” Kamal Nath had said while announcing his resignation

  • The crisis in the state was precipitated by Jyotiraditya Scindia's shift to the BJP and the resignation of 22 Congress MLAs who later joined the BJP

  • The resignation of 16 rebel Congress MLAs was accepted by the Speaker on Thursday night, while six resignations were accepted earlier

1:19 PM , 24 Mar

Shivraj Singh Meets Kamal Nath

Former Madhya Pradesh CM Kamal Nath meets Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan in Bhopal, ANI reported.

Former CM Kamal Nath and new Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.
Former CM Kamal Nath and new Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.
(Source: ANI)
11:28 AM , 24 Mar

Shivraj Singh Wins Confidence Motion

BJP leader Shivraj Singh Chouhan wins confidence motion unanimously in Madhya Pradesh assembly for his fourth term as Chief Minister, ANI reports. Not a single Congress MLA was present in the assembly at the time of voting.

SP, BSP and independent MLAs - all voted in favour of the motion.

11:05 AM , 24 Mar

Speaker Quit After Shivraj Chouhan Took Oath

A few hours after Shivraj Chouhan took oath, Madhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker N P Prajapati resigned on Monday late night. In his resignation letter submitted to Deputy Speaker Hina Kavre, he said he was resigning on moral grounds.

10:17 AM , 24 Mar

Special Assembly Session to Commence in MP

On Tuesday, a four-day special session will commence in MP Assembly. The session is likely to begin with a trust vote which BJP is most likely to win as Congress is left with only 92 MLAs.

Published: 18 Mar 2020, 8:36 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!