Bypoll Results: Of 10 Assembly Seats, BJP Wins One – Tharali

The BJP won just one assembly seat, i.e. Tharali, losing the other 10 to the Congress, JMM, RJD, SP, TMC, and CP(I)M

8 min read
Bypoll Results: Of 10 Assembly Seats, BJP Wins One – Tharali

Noorpur, Uttar Pradesh (Winner: SP’s Naeemul Hasan)

Tharali, Uttarakhand (Winner: BJP’s Munni Devi)

Palus Kadegaon, Maharashtra (Winner: Congress’ Vishwajeet Kadam)

Jokihat, Bihar (Winner: RJD’s Shahnawaz Alam)

Chengannur, Kerala (Winner: CPI(M)’s Saji Cherian)

Ampati, Meghalaya (Winner: Congress’ Miani D Shira)

Silli, Jharkhand (Winner: JMM’s Seema Devi Mahto)

Gomia, Jharkhand (Winner: JMM’s Babita Devi)

Shahkot, Punjab (Winner: Congress’ Hardev Singh Ladi)

Maheshtala, West Bengal (Winner: TMC’s Dulal Chandra Das)

Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Karnataka (Deferred polls) (Winner: Congress’ Muniratna)

5:40 PM , 31 May

Akhilesh Yadav: Kairana & Noorpur Bypoll Results Are a Defeat of Divisive Politics

Terming the outcome of the bypolls in Kairana and Noorpur in Uttar Pradesh as a defeat of divisive politics, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav today said the voters had delivered a befitting response to the BJP.

"This is a defeat for those who do not believe in democracy and play divisive politics. People have given a befitting reply to the BJP," he said at a press conference after the opposition candidates had established decisive leads in the counting for both constituencies.

"I thank and congratulate the voters in Noorpur and Kairana. This is a victory for the farmers, the poor and the Dalits," Yadav said.

5:30 PM , 31 May

Bypoll Result is People's Mandate Against Four Years of Modi Rule: Congress

The Congress termed today's outcome of the bypolls as the people's mandate against the four years of the Narendra Modi rule and the beginning of the end of BJP's empire.

Congress leader Pramod Tiwari told reporters,"The writing on the wall is clear. The BJP's exit and success of the Congress and its allies are guaranteed." He accused the Modi government of totally ignoring the poor and the farmers in last four years.

The outcome of the bypolls is the people’s mandate against the four years of the Modi government. It is a beginning of the end of the BJP empire which is based on lies, cheating and betrayal.
Pramod Tiwari
4:37 PM , 31 May

Nitish Kumar's JD(U) Lost Despite Using All Their Money and Power: RJD's Tejashwi Yadav

Tejashwi Yadav, in a statement to ANI, took a dig at the Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal, stating that they lost in Bihar’s Jokihat despite using “all their money and all their power.”

They used all their money & all their power, but could not get a victory. Nitish ji ne Ram Navmi ke dauraan jo 2 lakh talwaarein baantne ka kaam kiya tha, janta ne aaj ussi ke liye Nitish ji ko puruskaar dene ka kaam kiya hai.(After Nitish distributed those 2 lakh swords during Ram Navami, the people decided to give him this as a gift.)
Tejashwi Yadav, RJD Chief
4:23 PM , 31 May

Rajnath Singh: We're Just Preparing for a Giant Leap Forward

Home Minister and BJP minister Rajnath Singh said to ANI, in a response to the BJP’s victory in just one out of 11 assembly seats that it contested in, said that the party was just “taking two steps back to prepare for a giant leap.”

To take a giant leap, you will have to take two steps back. We will take a giant leap in the future. 
Rajnath Singh, Home Minister

Published: 30 May 2018, 8:33 PM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!