Sonowal to Form BJP Govt in Assam, Ends 15 Years of Congress Rule

The counting of votes for the Assam assembly elections has begun.

7 min read
 Sonowal to Form BJP Govt in Assam, Ends 15 Years of Congress Rule
(Photo: The Quint)
10:40 PM , 19 May

It’s been a good day for the BJP and it’s allies in Assam. The 126-seat assembly saw the BJP claim 61 seats, while it’s coalition partners Asom Gana Parishad and Bodoland People’s Front emerge victorious with 14 and 12 seats respectively.

Indian National Congress and Badruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF at the close of counting had 26 and 12 seats each to show for their efforts. The Congress would be particularly disappointed as this brings to an end its 15-year rule over the state.

BJP CM designate, Sarbonanda Sonowal, thanked the people of Assam for their support, and stressed that this was a vote for “Poriborton.” He reaffirmed that BJP and its allies will work together towards solving issues like infiltration, sealing of the Indo-Bangladesh border, problems of small tea growers, and unemployment, among other major challenges.

8:52 PM , 19 May
Celebrations at the BJP’s Assam state office
7:17 PM , 19 May
5:30 PM , 19 May

Om Mathur and Thawar Chand Gehlot have been appointed as observers for the formation of the state Government in Assam

Assam CM designate, Sarbananda Sonowal, thanks the people of the state for making today’s “victory possible.”

Published: 19 May 2016, 7:24 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News