Karnataka Bypolls: BJP Wins 12 Out of 15 Seats, JD(S) Draws Blank
Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa.
Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa.(Photo Courtesy: The News Minute)

Karnataka Bypolls: BJP Wins 12 Out of 15 Seats, JD(S) Draws Blank

The BJP has won 12 out of 15 seats in Karnataka by-elections, held on 5 December. The Congress, meanwhile, has won two seats, and the JD(S) has drawn blank in the polls.

Dinesh Gundu Rao has resigned as Karnataka Congress president, while former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has resigned as the leader of Opposition, on Monday, 9 December.

Speaking on the bypolls, PM Modi slammed the Congress saying, “The mandate in Karnataka was stolen through the backdoor by Congress. People have now taught the party a lesson.”


  • Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar accepted defeat, saying that “people have accepted defectors”
  • Taking into account the bypoll trends, the BJP’s tally will increase to 117 seats, while the Congress and JD(S) will be left with 68 and 34 seats respectively
  • Counting of votes began at 8 am on Monday, with the BJP needing to win at least seven of the 15 seats in order to hold on to power

(Make sure you don't miss fresh news updates from us. Click here to stay updated )


Karnataka Leaders Visit Temples for Victory in Bypolls

Ahead of the counting of votes for the byelections at 15 assembly segments, leaders in Karnataka visited temples and Maths on Sunday seeking divine intervention.

Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa went to Dharmasthala and sought the blessings of Lord Manjunatha, reported PTI.

Amid chanting of hymns, Yediyurappa performed a special puja in the temple for his partys (BJP) victory in the polls and successful completion of his tenure in the next three-and-a-half years.


Karnataka Bypolls: Counting of Votes Begins

Counting of votes has begun for 15 Assembly seats in Karnataka. The results of the bypolls, which were held on 5 December, will decide the fate of the BJP government in the state.

(Photo: ANI)

Early Trends Show BJP Leading in 9 Seats

According to early trends, the BJP is leading in nine seats out of 15 Assembly seats in Karnataka, while the Congress and JD(S) are ahead in one each, reported CNN-News18.

Karnataka Bypoll Results: JD(S) Leads in KR Pete


Trends at 9 am: BJP Leads in 10 Seats, Congress and JD(S) Ahead in 2 Each

According to trends at 9 am, the leads are as follows for the 15 Assembly seats in Karnataka:

  • BJP - 10 seats
  • Congress - 2 seats
  • JD(S) - 2 seats
  • Independent - 1 seat

Karnataka Bypoll Results: BJP Leads in Chikkaballapura

Karnataka Bypoll Results: BJP Leads in Gokak

BJP Leads in 11 Seats As Per Latest Trends

Here’s how the parties stack up against each other as per the latest trends for the Karnataka bypolls:

  • BJP - 11
  • Congress- 2
  • JD(S)- 1
  • Others - 1

Karnataka Bypoll Results: Congress Leads in Shivajinagar

Celebrations at BJP Office as Trends Show Comfortable Lead for Party

With the latest trends showing the BJP leading in 11 out of 15 seats in Karnataka, celebrations have already begun at the party office in Bengaluru.

Karnataka Bypoll Results: Trends at 10:45 am

  • BJP - 12
  • Congress - 2
  • Independent: 1

'We Have Accepted Defeat': Congress Leader DK Shivakumar

With the Congress leading in just two seats out of 15 and the JD(S) in none, Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar accepted his party’s defeat in the bypolls.

“We have to agree with the mandate of the voters of these 15 constituencies. People have accepted the defectors. We have accepted defeat. I don't think we have to be disheartened,” he was quoted as saying.

BJP's Shivaram Hebbar Wins from Yellapur Constituency

BJP’s Shivaram Hebbar has won from the Yellapur constituency, defeating Congress’ Bhimanna Naik by a margin of 31,406 votes.

BS Yediyurappa Celebrates BJP Lead With Son BY Vijayendra

With the trends showing a comfortable win for the BJP in the Karnataka bypolls, state CM BS Yediyurappa was pictured celebrating with his son BY Vijayendra.

Counting of Votes Slow at Certain Booths


'MLAs Will Get Good Posts as Ministers': BS Yediyurappa on Bypoll Results

With the BJP set to secure a comfortable majority in the Karnataka bypolls, party leader and state CM BS Yediyurappa said that he’s confident that the government would continue for the next three-and-a-half years.

“We are happy to have won so many seats for the BJP and Narendra Modi. Even in KR Pete, which is also my birthplace, where we had so far been unable to win, I’m very happy that our candidate has won. These MLAs will get good posts as ministers and will be given a chance to help the party grow. I’m happy people have reposed faith in us.”


'People Have Taught Congress a Lesson': PM Modi on Karnataka Bypoll Results

With BJP leading in 12 seats out of 15 in Karnataka, PM Modi slammed the Congress at a rally in Jharkhand, saying “Congress and its allies (had) subverted the mandate” in the state and “stabbed it in the back”.

“The mandate in Karnataka was stolen through the backdoor by Congress. People have now taught the party a lesson… Some people said the BJP has limited influence in the South. The people of Karnataka defeated and punished them in a dramatic way during bypolls,” Modi was quoted as saying.

Deputy Chief Minister Ashwath Narayan on Karnataka Bypoll Results

Siddaramaiah Resigns as Legislative Party Leader

Senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah resigned as the leader of Opposition, with the BJP set to secure a comfortable majority in the Karnataka bypolls.

“As a leader of legislative party, I need to respect democracy. I have resigned as Congress Legislative Party leader. I have submitted my resignation to Sonia Gandhi,” said Siddaramaiah.

Karnataka Bypolls: Dinesh Gundu Rao Resigns as KPCC President

Dinesh Gundu Rao has resigned as the Karnataka Congress president, following the BJP’s comfortable victory in the bypolls.

“Rahul Gandhi had chosen me as KPCC president, I have given it my 100%, to guide the party to the best possible position. But after the results today, as a moral responsibility, I have tendered my resignation to Sonia Gandhi. I am still ready to serve the party in any capacity, as decided by AICC and state leadership. I am always with the Congress.”
Dinesh Gundu Rao

Follow our Politics section for more stories.