Haryana Municipal Elections: BJP, Independents Win Big; AAP Opens Its Account

BJP bagged 10 of the 18 municipal council seats while its alliance partner JJP bagged one seat.

2 min read
Haryana Municipal Elections: BJP, Independents Win Big; AAP Opens Its Account

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) combine won 25 of the 46 municipal bodies in the Haryana Municipal Election, the counting of votes for which took place on Wednesday, 22 June.

The polls were held on Sunday for 18 municipal councils and 28 municipal bodies.

A senior official of the State Election Commission said that the BJP won a total 22 seats, JJP bagged three seats, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won one seat, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won one seat.

Independent candidates won 19 seats including Hansi, Narwana, Narnaul, Tohana, Bhiwani, and Hodal.

AAP has opened its account by winning the Ismailabad (Kurukshetra) municipal committee president post.

BJP Bags 10 Council Seats 

BJP bagged 10 of the 18 municipal council seats – Gohana, Jind, Jhajjar, Bahadurgarh, Charkhi Dadri, Kalka, Sohna, Kaithal, Palwal, and Fatehabad – while its alliance partner, JJP bagged one. The INLD also won one council, while Independents won six.

However, BJP lost two presidential seats in Karnal, which is CM Khattar's home turf, reported Hindustan Times.

State Election Commission Secretary Inder Jeet told news agency PTI, "For the 28 municipal committee president's post, the BJP won 12, JJP 2, AAP 1 and Independents 13."

Haryana CM ML Khattar Congratulates BJP Winners

On the other hand, of the 28 municipal committees, the BJP bagged 12, while the JJP won two. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) also opened its account with one committee, while Independents bagged 13, as per officials.

Meanwhile, Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar took to Twitter to congratulate the BJP candidates who won from their seats.

"Many congratulations to all the candidates of the BJP who won the local body elections. This victory of yours is a victory of the trust of the people, which has been continuing towards the BJP since 2014. This victory is dedicated to the hardworking workers of the party," he said.

The counting of votes had started at 8 am on Wednesday. More than 70 percent of voters cast their ballots in the election.

While the BJP, JJP, INLD and AAP fought the election on their respective party symbols, several candidates of the Congress fought as Independents.

(With inputs from PTI, Hindustan Times.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!