Fadnavis Holds Roadshow in Nagpur on the Last of Poll Campaigning

Catch all the live updates on the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly elections here. 

24 min read
Maharashtra and Haryana will go for Assembly polls on 21 October.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis is holding a roadshow in Nagpur on the last day of campaigning ahead of the Assembly elections in the state.

Earlier on Friday, addressing a rally in Mumbai, PM Narendra Modi said that he is "witnessing more enthusiasm in the Maharashtra Assembly elections than that seen during the Lok Sabha polls."

  • Modi slammed the Congress over its stand on Article 370 during his rally in Haryana earlier on Friday
  • “Demonetisation and ‘Gabbar Singh Tax’ have destroyed small and medium enterprises,” Rahul Gandhi said in Haryana on Friday
  • The Election Commission of India has announced a ban on exit polls from 7 am to 6:30 pm on 21 October
  • The 288-member Maharashtra Assembly and the 90-member Haryana Assembly will be going to polls on 21 October, and the results will be out on 24 October

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

11:21 AM, 04 Oct

Hooda Files Nomination Papers for Haryana Polls, Hits Out at BJP Govt

Senior Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda, on Friday, said the “anti-people” BJP government in Haryana will be ousted after the 21 October polls as people have made up their mind to bring back the main Opposition party to power.

The Haryana Congress Legislature Party leader said the “false promises” made by the Bharatiya Janata Party have been exposed before the people.

11:21 AM, 04 Oct

Maharashtra Elections: Fadnavis, Shinde, Ajit Pawar File Nominations

Maharasthra CM Devendra Fadnavis, Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde and NCP leader Ajit Pawar were among the prominent Maharashtra politicians who filed nominations for the October 21 Assembly polls on Friday, the last day to submit the papers.

Fadnavis, the first BJP chief minister of the state, filed his papers from the Nagpur South-West constituency.

2:47 PM, 04 Oct

Hindutva Binds BJP, Sena; Will Retain Power in Maharashtra: CM Fadnavis

Despite differences, the BJP and Shiv Sena share the "common thread" of Hindutva and will retain power in Maharashtra after the 21 October Assembly polls, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said on Friday.

Addressing a joint press conference with Sena president Uddhav Thackeray, Fadnavis said the 'Mahayuti' alliance comprising BJP, Sena and other parties will get an unprecedented victory in the elections.

Fadnavis said Aaditya Thackeray, son of Uddhav Thackeray, will win the Worli seat by polling the highest number of votes.

He added that he will ask all rebel BJP candidates to withdraw from the poll arena in the next two days.

To a query on why some senior leaders, including Cabinet ministers were not fielded by the BJP, Fadnavis said, "Nobody has been dropped, they have only been reassigned responsibilities."

9:52 PM, 04 Oct

5,534 Candidates File Nominations for Maharashtra Elections

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde and NCP leader Ajit Pawar were among 3,754 candidates who filed nominations for the 21 October Maharashtra Assembly polls on Friday, the last day for submitting the papers.

In all, 5,534 candidates have filed nominations across Maharashtra for the election.

According to the Election Commission, highest number of candidates - 135 - filed nominations in Bhokar Assembly seat in Nanded district.

The least number of nominations, a mere four each, were received in Mumbai's Mahim and Sewri constituencies. Fadnavis, the first BJP chief minister of the state, filed his papers from Nagpur South-West.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!