Exclusive: Cabinet Portfolio Names for BJP-led Govt in Assam
Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Assam CM designate Sarbananda Sonowal. (Photo: PTI)
Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Assam CM designate Sarbananda Sonowal. (Photo: PTI)

Exclusive: Cabinet Portfolio Names for BJP-led Govt in Assam

The Quint has obtained exclusive access to the names that would figure in the Assam Cabinet when Chief Minister to-be Sarbananda Sonowal takes the oath on May 24. It has been reported that BJP & it’s coalition partners Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) & Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) will formally meet on May 22 to discuss cabinet portfolios. Sources close to the BJP state leadership have attested to the veracity of the portfolio list, but there may be last minute political negotiations until the swearing-in ceremony and so, the list may vary.

(With inputs from Anjana Dutta)

Sarbananda Sonowal: Chief Minister ( Home & Political)

BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal will take the oath as the Chief Minister in Guwahati.  (Photo: PTI)
BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal will take the oath as the Chief Minister in Guwahati. (Photo: PTI)

No surprises here. In 2014, Sonowal was made Union minister for sports and youth affairs in the Modi government at the Centre. He will now be Assam’s next Chief Minister.

Himanta B Sharma: Finance & Forest

Himanta Biswa Sarma. (Photo: Facebook/Himanta Biswa Sarma)
Himanta Biswa Sarma. (Photo: Facebook/Himanta Biswa Sarma)

Hailed as the game changer in the Assam assembly elections, Himanta ditched the Congress and joined the BJP in August 2015. While rumours suggested that he has his eyes on the Chief Minister’s seat, he will be heading the Finance portfolio in the new Cabinet.

Hiten Gouswami: Education & Health

Hitendra Nath Goswami of the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) won the prestigious Jorhat seat by defeating arch rival and two times MLA Rana Goswami of the INC (Indian National Congress) by 13,638 votes

Tapon Gogoi: Assam Accord & Jail

Tapon Gogoi was the general secretary of the influential All Assam Students Union and BJP’s candidate from Sonari constituency.

Promila Rani Brahma: Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Classes

Senior Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) leader and former minster Pramila Rani Brahma, has been elected the chief of the legislative within the BPF. She has been elected for straight six terms consecutively from Kokrajhar east constituency in Kokrajhar district to the Assam assembly.

Chandan Brahma: Transport

Former Transport Minister Chandan Brahma defeated United People’s Party (UPP) candidate Rwngwra Narzary by a margin of 8,988 votes from the Sidli constituency.

Atul Bora (Senior): Public Health Engineering

Formerly a member of Assam Gona Parishad (AGP), BJP’s Atul Bora has won by the highest margin of 1,30,197 votes from Dispur assembly constituency. 

Prasanta Phukon: Water Resource

Three-time MLA Prasanta Phukan retained his Dibrugrah seat by securing 63,985 votes defeating his rival Congress’ Chandrakanta Baruah.

Aminul Islam Laskar: Minority Development & Haj

Aminul Islam Laskar, is the only Muslim candidate that has won from BJP from his constituency Sonai by defeating Congress MLA Anamul Haq.

Sidhartha Bhattacharya: Guwahati Metropolitan Development Authority and Veterinary

Former BJP state unit President Siddhartha Bhattacharya won by the second highest margin of 96,637 votes in the elections.

Ronjit Dutta: Public Works Department

Also the former State unit president of the BJP, Ranjit Dutta defeated Rupak Sarma of the Congress to be elected to the State Assembly. 

Renupoma Rajkhua: Social Welfare

Renupoma Rajkhua, also from the AGP, has won the Teok seat by garnering 40,928 votes against Congress’ Pallabi Saikia Gogoi.

Suman Haripriya: Cultural & Handloom & Textile

Award-winning Assamese filmmaker Suman Haripriya, daughter of former union minister and sitting Guwahati MP Bijoya Chakravarty won from the Hajo constituency.

Parimal Suklabadya: Excise

BJP leader and former MLA Parimal Suklabaidya defeated Girindra Mallik of the Congress in Dholai (SC) constituency.

Atul Bora (Junior): Irrigation

Atul Bora (Juniot) is the president of AGP, and he got elected to the Assembly by winning from the Bokakhat Assembley seat.

Speaker: Brindabon Gouswami

AGP leader Brindaban Goswami defeated Congress candidate Hiranya Bhuyan by margin of 36,843 votes in Tezpur constituency and is slated to assume the Speaker position in the Assam assembly.

(Participate in the second edition of The Quint's My Report Debate and win Rs 10,000. Write an essay on how to fix India and Pakistan's relationship. Submit now)

Follow our Politics section for more stories.

    Also Watch