RK Nagar: AIADMK to Remove 9 Key Aides of TTV Dhinakaran

The decision was taken at a high level committee meeting called by EPS and OPS at AIADMK HQ.

2 min read
O Panneerselvam and E Palaniswami.

AIADMK Coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and Joint Coordinator and Chief Minister K Palaniswami issued a joint statement to remove 9 key members of the AIADMK who backed sidelined party deputy general secretary TTV Dhinakaran.

The decision was taken at a high-level committee meeting called by the two top party office-bearers to analyse the party's performance after the thumping defeat in RK Nagar polls by TTV Dhinkaran of the rival faction.

The party decided to remove, among 9 others, key Dhinakaran aides S Vetrivel and Thangatamilselvan, AIADMK, district secretaries in Chennai and Theni respectively. TTV loyalist Pugazhendi was another member to face removal, Puthiya Thalaimurai reported.

The statement issued after the committee meeting also said that strict action would be taken against anyone who betrayed AIADMK.

The ruling AIADMK urged EC to probe alleged irregularities committed by supporters of TTV Dhinakaran in the bypoll held on 21 December.

Whatever TTV Dhinakaran says are nothing but lies. He himself told us that he is a big 420.
Tamil Nadu Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam at AIADMK HQ

Dhinkaran rejects AIADMK’s Charge of Pact With DMK

Meanwhile, Dhinkaran rejected the ruling camp’s charge of a pact with the DMK in the bypolls.

After the bypoll result was announced on 24 December, the ruling AIADMK had alleged there was a 'tacit understanding' between opposition DMK and Dhinakaran.

The result of the RK Nagar bypoll is an outcome of the tacit understanding between DMK Working President MK Stalin and Dhinakaran.
Panneerselvam and Palaniswami said in a joint statement on 24 December.

Dhinakaran said DMK appeared to have made "an arithmetic" mistake" and was 'overconfident'.

In a related development, expelled AIADMK Rajya Sabha member Sasikala Pushpa called on Dhinkaran and congratulated him on Monday.

Rejecting the charge, DMK’s Stalin also alleged it was the state ministers under the charge of Palaniswami and Panneerselvam who aided the Dhinakaran camp in distributing money to the voters.

Responding to reporters' queries on the charge by AIADMK, he asserted that the DMK faced the poll only in "alliance with democracy".

The bypoll was held to fill the vacancy caused by the death of sitting MLA and then-chief minister J Jayalalithaa.

(With inputs from PTI)

(Breathe In, Breathe Out: Are you finding it tough to breathe polluted air? Join hands with FIT in partnership with #MyRightToBreathe to find a solution to pollution. Send in your suggestions to fit@thequint.com or WhatsApp @ +919999008335)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!