Delhi Polls: Election Observers Review Situation in Shaheen Bagh
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020.
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020.(Image: The Quint)

Delhi Polls: Election Observers Review Situation in Shaheen Bagh

The Aam Aadmi Party will hold silent protest in all 70 assembly constituencies over BJP MP Parvesh Verma's calling Delhi CM and AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal a "terrorist".

Election Observers along with Delhi Police visited Shaheen Bagh on friday, 31 January, to review the situation in the area.

The Election Commission on Thursday, 30 January issued a show cause notice to BJP MP Parvesh Verma for allegedly calling Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal a "terrorist". He has been given time till 5 PM on Friday to respond.


  • EC banned MoS Finance Anurag Thakur from campaigning for 72 hours and BJP MP Parvesh Verma for 96 hours on 30 January
  • Delhi Police Commissioner Amulya Patnaik’s tenure has been extended by one month
    Shiromani Akali Dal has decided to support BJP in Delhi assembly polls
  • 70 seats of Delhi Assembly will go to polls on 8 February, with the results to be declared on 11 February
  • In 2015, the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP stormed into power in the capital, bagging 67 of the 70 seats

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

(Make sure you don't miss fresh news updates from us. Click here to stay updated)


AAP Leaders Sisodia, 12 Others File Nominations on Thursday

Senior AAP leader and Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, and 12 other candidates on Thursday filed their nominations ahead of the 8 February Assembly polls, officials said.

With this the total number of nominations for the upcoming elections has gone up to 25 from 23 candidates.

Sisodia, 47, filed the nomination from the East Delhi's Patparganj constituency for the Delhi Assembly elections after holding a road show.

BJP, Congress Likely to Announce Candidates on Friday

Both BJP and Congress are likely to announce their candidates for the Delhi elections on Friday. Both parties’ central election committees held their respective meetings on Thursday.

BJP Announces 57 Candidates Out of 70 For Upcoming Polls

The Bharatiya Janata Party announces names of 57 candidates out of 70 for upcoming Delhi assembly elections.

Former AAP leader Kapil Mishra will contest from Model Town on BJP ticket and Delhi Assembly Leader of Opposition Vijender Gupta will contest from Rohini.

Rekha Gupta will contest from Shalimar Bagh, Suman Kumar Gupta to contest from Chandni Chowk. Ajeet Singh Kharkhari to contest from Najafgarh and RP Singh to contest from Rajinder Nagar.

  • 02
    (Photo: ANI)
  • 01
    (Photo: ANI)

Tiwari said that the names of candidates for the remaining 13 seats will be announced soon.

Congress' Election Committee to Meet on Saturday

The Congress party’s Central Election Committee is scheduled to meet on Saturday, 18 January.

Read More

Follow our Politics section for more stories.