BJP Forms New Govt in Assam; Cabinet of 11 Ministers Announced 

Here is a list of Assam’s new cabinet. 

2 min read
Chief Minister of Assam, Sarbananda Sonowal. (Photo: PTI)

The new Chief Minister of Assam, BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal was sworn in on Tuesday and now his new cabinet of 11 ministers has been announced. This will be the first government that BJP will form in the state, ending 15 years of Congress rule. Many members of the new cabinet are familiar faces in Assam.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal (BJP)

Among other things, the Chief Minister will be in charge of Home, Border Area Development, Social Welfare and Implementations of the Assam Accord. As Chief Minister, Sonowal has the maximum number of portfolios under his belt.

Himanta Biswa Sarma (BJP)

The former Congress member will be in charge of Finance, Planning and Development, Health & Family Welfare, Education (Higher, Secondary & Elementary) among other things. He will also be in charge of Khadi and Village Industry.


Atul Bora (AGP)

The president of Asom Gana Parishad, Bora will be looking after four portfolios: Agriculture, Horticulture and Food Processing, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Urban Development Directorate and Town & Country Planning.


Pramila Rani Brahma (BPF)

Senior Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) leader and former minster Pramila Rani will look after Environment & Forest, Soil Conservation, Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Class and Mines & Minerals.


Keshab Mahanta (AGP)

A member of BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad, Mahanta will be in charge of Water Resources, Science & Technology and Information Technology.


Parimal Sukla Baidya (BJP)

BJP leader and former MLA Parimal Sukla is in charge of PWD (Roads and Buildings), Fishery’s and Excise.


Ranjit Dutta (BJP)

Datta is in charge of Irrigation, Handloom and Textile (excluding Khadi and Village Industry) and Sericulture. 


Chandramohan Patowary (AGP)

Former President of Asom Gana Parishad, Patowary will be in charge of Commerce and Industry, Transport and Parliamentary Affairs.


Rihan Daimary (BPF)

Daimary is in charge of Public Health Engineering, Food and Civil Supply.


Naba Doly (Minister of State With Independent Charge)

Apart from manning the portfolios of Panchayat and Rural Development, Sports & Youth Welfare, Cultural Affairs, Doby will also assist the Chief Minister in the Social Welfare portfolio.


Pallab Lochan Das (Minister of State With Independent Charge)

Das is independently in charge of Labour & Employment and Tea Tribes Welfare. He will assist the Chief Minister in looking after the Power department).

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!