Bypolls: BJP, Allies Bag Most Seats; AIMIM Gains Toehold in Bihar

Bypoll results 2019 live updates.

12 min read
Bypoll results 2019 live updates.

The BJP and its allies on Thursday, 24 October, won 26 of the 51 assembly seats at stake in the bypolls across 18 states. Meanwhile, Congress emerged victorious in 12 constituencies and Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM tasted its maiden electoral success in Bihar.

In bye-elections to two Lok Sabha seats, Prince Raj of the Lok Jan Shakti Party won in Samastipur (SC) in Bihar, while NCP emerged victorious in Maharashtra's Satara constituency.

On the other hand, the Samajwadi Party turned out to be a major gainer in Uttar Pradesh, wresting a seat each from the ruling BJP and the BSP, while the NDA got eight, one less than it held. Both Congress and BSP drew a blank in the state.

  • NDA suffered a setback in Bihar assembly bypolls winning just one of the five assembly seats
  • OBC leader Alpesh Thakor, who switched sides from the Congress to the BJP, lost Radhanpur bypoll in Gujarat
  • The ruling Congress won three Assembly seats, while the opposition Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won one in the Punjab bypolls

Catch live updates for Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly polls.

9:44 PM , 24 Oct

Udayanraje Bhosale on Brink of Defeat in Satara Lok Sabha Bypoll

Udayanraje Bhosale, a descendent of Chhatrapati Shivaji and two-time NCP MP from Satara in western Maharashtra, appears to be losing his seat in the bypoll as the counting was underway on Thursday, 24 October.

By Thursday evening, Bhosale, who resigned and joined the BJP before the Maharashtra Assembly polls (which necessitated the Lok Sabha byelection), was trailing behind NCP veteran Sriniwas Patil by 80,000 votes.

9:24 PM , 24 Oct

We Have Bounced Back After Similar Defeats : JD(U) on Bihar Bypoll Debacle

Taking the Bihar assembly bypolls debacle on the chin, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) on Thursday, 24 October, sought to draw succor from the past when the party had made a comeback after a similar setback.

The party, which lost four of the seats it held and managed to win one by a whisker, also asked the opposition Grand Alliance to hold its horses.

It pointed out that the victory of Hyderabad-based All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen of Asaduddin Owaisi in Kishanganj demonstrated that the RJD-Congress combine no longer enjoyed the unflinching support of the states’ Muslims.

8:12 PM , 24 Oct

Bihar Bypolls Deal Body Blow to NDA, Hold Glimmer of Hope for RJD

The NDA suffered a setback in Bihar Assembly bypolls, winning just one of the five Assembly seats.

The results gave the once-mighty RJD a little hope as the party secured two seats, while Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM gained a toehold in the state clinching Kishanganj, a Muslim-dominated constituency. BJP rebel candidate Karnjeet Singh won the Dharaunda seat.

The JD(U) could win only Nathnagar where its candidate Laxmi Kant Mandal beat Rabia Khatun of the RJD by a little more than 5,000 votes.

8:01 PM , 24 Oct

UP Assembly Bypolls: NDA Gets 8, SP 3; BSP, Cong Draw Blank

The SP turned out to be a major gainer in UP Assembly bypolls, wresting a seat each from the ruling BJP and the BSP, while the NDA got eight, one less than it held, as final results were declared on Thursday for the 11 seats that went to polls this week.

The SP wrested Zaidpur seat from the ruling BJP and Jalalpur seat from the BSP, while retaining Rampur.

The BJP bagged seven seats and its ally Apna Dal (S) one. The saffron party retained Balha, Gangoh, Manikpur, Ghosi, Iglas, Lucknow Cantt and Govindnagar, while Apna Dal (S) retained Pratapgarh.

Published: 24 Oct 2019, 5:30 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!