Teeri Betting: All You Should Know About Meghalaya State Lotteries

Teeri betting is controlled under the Meghalaya Amusements and Betting Tax (Amendment) Act 1982.

1 min read
Image used for representation only.

Shillong Teer, Khanapara Teer and Juwai Teer are some of the betting games played on a daily basis in Shillong, the capital city of Meghalaya.

'Teer' literally translates to 'arrow' in English, and the Teeri betting, as the name suggests, is the betting done on the game of archery – a traditional sport played by the Khasi tribe of Meghalaya.

Teeri betting, which was legalised by the state government in 1982, is controlled under the Meghalaya Amusements and Betting Tax (Amendment) Act 1982.

There are several licensed counters across the state for the Teer betting, the tickets for which are sold between 10 am and 3:30 pm. Betting can be done on any amount of money ranging from Re 1- Rs 500. The winners receive a prize of up to Rs 80 for each rupee invested.

The match begins at 3:30 pm and the results of betting are usually announced on the same day in two rounds, with the first round of results getting out at 3:30 pm and the second round at 4:30 pm.

Rules of the Teer betting game:

  • People place bets on numbers ranging from 0 to 99.
  • The player has to predict the last two digits of the total number of arrows that hit the target.

Meghalaya is one of those Indian states where lottery is legalised and operated by the state government.

(With inputs from

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!