Parliament’s Winter Session To Begin on 18 Nov and End on 13 Dec

The Winter session of Parliament will commence from 18 November and will last till 13 December.

1 min read
Photo used for representation.

The Winter session of Parliament will commence from 18 November and will last till 13 December, the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs said, reported ANI.

Last week, a meeting was held at the residence of Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, who heads the panel to make a formal decision of the dates.

In last two years, winter sessions have been convened on 21 November and ended in the first week of January.

Besides various bills, the government plans to convert two crucial ordinances into law during the session.

One ordinance reducing corporate tax rate for new and domestic manufacturing companies to arrest slowdown in the economy and boost growth was issued in September to give effect to amendments in the Income Tax Act, 1961 and Finance Act, 2019.

The second ordinance, also issued in September, banned sale, manufacture and storage of e-cigarettes and similar products.

(This story was auto-published from a syndicated feed. No part of the story has been edited by The Quint.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!