NIA Makes 17 Arrests in 11 August Bengaluru Violence Case 

While a probe is underway, 187 arrests have been made in the case so far.

1 min read
National Investigation Agency (NIA).

National Investigation Agency (NIA) in a statement on Monday, 21 December said that they have arrested 17 Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) and Popular Front of India (PFI) party leaders for their alleged involvement in the violent attack and large scale rioting at KG Halli Police Station in Bengaluru on 11 August.

While a probe in the matter is underway, 187 arrests have been made in the case so far.


“Investigation so far has revealed that the SDPI leaders, namely, Md Sharieff, President, Bengaluru District, SDPI, Imran Ahmed, President, KG Halli Ward, along with other senior leaders like Rubah Waqas, Shabbar Khan and Shaik Ajmal had conducted meetings at Thanissandra and KG Halli wards in Bengaluru in the evening of 11 August wherein they conspired, mobilised and led the crowd gathered at KG Halli Police station to attack the police personnel, causing huge damage to the public and police station vehicles [sic],” the NIA said in its release.

“Similarly, accused Abbas, SDPI President of Nagwara ward, had also mobilised large crowd at the KG Halli police station through his associates Azil Pasha, Irfan Khan and Akbar Khan,” it added.

Social media channels like Facebook, Instagram, Whatsapp were used to spread “terror” among people and mobilised people from far away places, they said.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!