Madhya Pradesh Mayoral Polls: BJP Wins 7 Seats, Congress 3; AAP Opens Account

The Aam Admi Party (AAP), which was contesting civic elections in the state for the first time, won in Singrauli.

3 min read
Madhya Pradesh Mayoral Polls: BJP Wins 7 Seats, Congress 3; AAP Opens Account
Hindi Female

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

Of the 11 civic bodies in Madhya Pradesh, where mayoral elections were held on 6 July, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has managed to win seven seats while the Congress retained three seats, as per the results declared on Sunday, 17 July.

The All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), which contested the civic body polls in Madhya Pradesh for the first time, also won three seats in the Khargone Municipal Council (KMC), news agency PTI reported.

The party had also won four seats during the first phase of the elections held on 6 July. Hence, its total tally so far is seven seats.

The Aam Admi Party (AAP), another first timer, has emerged victorious on one seat.

The local body elections in the state for 413 municipalities were held in two phases on 6 and 13 July.

Under the first phase, the counting for which began 9 am Sunday, 11 municipal corporations, 36 nagar palikas, and 86 nagar parishads went to polls.


Which Candidate Won From Which Party?

While BJP candidates have won in Burhanpur, Satna, Khandwa, Sagar, Ujjain, Indore, and Bhopal, Congress won in Chhindwara, Gwalior, and Jabalpur, and AAP in Singrauli.

  • Burhanpur – BJP's Madhuri Patel

  • Satna – BJP's Yogesh Tamarkar

  • Khandwa – BJP's Amrita Amar Yadav

  • Sagar – BJP's Sangeeta Tiwari

  • Ujjain – BJP'S Mukesh Tatwal

  • Indore – BJP's Pushyamitra Bhargava

  • Bhopal – BJP's Malti Rai

  • Chhindwara – Congress' Vikram Ahaka

  • Jabalpur – Congress' Jagat Bahadur Singh

  • Gwalior – Congress' Shobha Shikarwar

  • Singrauli – AAP's Rani Agrawal

Congress has won the mayoral post in Gwalior after 57 long years, while its victory in Jabalpur comes after a gap of 18 years.

BJP's Patel, Tamarkar, Yadav, Tiwari, Tatwal, Bhargava, and Malti Rai defeated Congress' Shahnaz Ansari, Siddharth Kushwaha, Asha Mishra, Nidhi Jain, Mahesh Parmar, Sanjay Shukla, and Vibha Patel by a margin of 542, 24,916, 19,763, 12,665, 736, 1.33 lakh, and around 98,000 votes, respectively, in Burhanpur, Satna, Khandwa, Sagar, Ujjain, Indore, and Bhopal, officials said.

Congress candidates Jagat Bahadur Singh and Shobha Shikarwar defeated their nearest rivals of the BJP – Jitendra Jamdar and Suman Sharma – by 44,339 and 28,805 votes, respectively, in Jabalpur and Gwalior.

AAP's Rani Agrawal defeated her nearest BJP rival Chandrapratap Vishwakarma by a margin of 9,231 votes.

This is the first time the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP contested civic elections in Madhya Pradesh. Kejriwal had recently held a roadshow in support of Agrawal.

Meanwhile, the AIMIM had registered its first electoral victory in Madhya Pradesh with Shakira Bilal winning the corporator's post in Khandwa.

The AIMIM candidate, Shakira Bilal, won the election from ward number-14 of the Khandwa municipal corporation by defeating her nearest Congress rival Noorjahan Begum by a margin of 285 votes, an official told PTI.


PM Modi Lauds BJP Victory, Kejriwal Hails AAP's Debut

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed his gratitude towards the people of Madhya Pradesh and said that this BJP victory is a symbol of people's unbreakable trust in the state government.

The Congress also thanked the citizens of MP and congratulated party workers.

AAP also congratulated its mayoral candidate Rani Agrawal who managed to win in Singrauli.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minster Shivraj Singh Chouhan also celebrated the victory and thanked PM Modi for his best wishes.

Chauhan said later in the evening, "Out of 16 municipal corporations, we won in 9... We have won 6 out of 8 Nagar Parishads in Jabalpur. We have won 11 out of 12 in Rewa, 5 out of 6 in Gwalior and all three municipal councils in Katni. In the election, BJP got the blessings of the people."

Former Chief Minister Kamal Nath also congratulated Congress candidates.

(With inputs from PTI.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from news and india

Edited By :Tejas Harad
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More