BJP Wins Tripura, UP Bypolls; Cong Gets Dantewada, Left Bags Pala

The BJP emerged victorious in two of the four Assembly constituencies where bypolls were held.

2 min read
An artist makes graffiti of Left Democratic Front (LDF) in Kochi ahead of Kerala assembly polls. 

The BJP on Friday, 27 September emerged victorious in two of the four Assembly constituencies where bypolls were held while the ruling LDF wrested a seat in Kerala and the Congress consolidated its position in Chhattisgarh, winning Naxal-affected Dantewada.

BJP candidates won in Uttar Pradesh and Tripura defeating their Samajwadi Party and CPI-M rivals respectively. LDF's Mani C Kappen defeated Jose Tom Pulikkunnel of the opposition Congress-led UDF in a closely-contested fight.


Pala Bypoll

Kappen, leader of the Nationalist Congress Party, defeated Pulikkunnel, a faction leader of the Kerala Congress (M), by 2,943 votes.

Pala was a bastion of the Congress-led UDF, held by veteran leader and former finance minister KM Mani for the past five decades.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the demise of Mani in April. The win has come as a huge relief to the LDF after its rout in the Lok Sabha polls.

With this victory, the number of LDF MLAs in the 140-member Assembly has gone up to 91.

Hamirpur Bypoll

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP's Yuvraj Singh won the bypoll to the Hamirpur seat by a margin of over 17,846 votes, defeating Manoj Prajapati of the SP.

Singh secured 74,374 votes, while Prajapati got 56,528 votes, the Election Commission said.

The by-election was held following the disqualification of BJP MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel after his conviction in a murder case.

Nine candidates, including the Congress' Hardeepak Nishad and Naushad Ali of the BSP, were in the poll fray.

Badarghat Bypoll

BJP's candidate Mimi Majumder won the by-election to Badharghat (SC) Assembly constituency in Tripura defeating her nearest rival, CPI(M)'s Bulti Biswas, by 5,276 votes.

Congress nominee Ratan Chandra Das secured the third place.

The seat fell vacant due to the death of BJP MLA Dilip Sarkar in April.

Both the BJP and the CPI(M) got fewer votes in comparison to what they bagged in the Assembly elections.

Dantewada Bypoll

Devti Karma of the Congress defeated Ojaswi Mandavi of the BJP by 11192 votes to win the Dantewada Assembly bypoll in Chhattisgarh. The ruling Congress now has 68 members in the 90-strong house.

Karma polled 50,028 votes while Mandavi got 38,836 votes.

The BJP had fielded Ojaswi in the seat, reserved for Scheduled Tribes, where a bypoll was necessitated after her MLA husband Bhima Mandavi was killed in a Maoist attack in April.

(This story was auto-published from a syndicated feed. No part of the story has been edited by The Quint.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!