With Himachal Gone, Congress Is Reduced to Just 4 States in India

BJP is set to win Himachal. Now, the Congress has been reduced to just four states in India.

1 min read
With Himachal Gone, Congress Is Reduced to Just 4 States in India

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

The Bharatiya Janata Party is well on its way to victory in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections, and the party’s presence in India has grown significantly since its advent to power in 2014.

After (almost) winning Himachal Pradesh, the BJP has brought one more state under its belt, marking its presence in 19 states in India today. The Congress, in turn, is dominant in only four states currently – a far cry from its presence in 13 states back in 2014.


Before the BJP came to power in 2014, it held only seven states – Gujarat, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Nagaland, and Maharashtra.

Today, the only states where it isn’t in power are Tamil Nadu (AIADMK), Kerala (CPI-M), West Bengal (Trinamool Congress), Odisha (Biju Janata Dal), Meghalaya (Congress), Telangana (Telangana Rashtra Samiti), Mizoram (Congress), Nagaland (Naga People's Front), Delhi (Aam Aadmi Party), and Tripura (CPI-M).

Following the loss of Himachal, the Congress can only boast of being in power in only four states – Punjab, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Karnataka.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from news and india

Topics:  Delhi   BJP   Congress 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News