Shinzo Abe, Late Singer SPB, Ram Vilas Paswan Among Padma Awardees

While Abe and Balasubrahmanyam have been conferred the Padma Vibhushan, Paswan has been given the Padma Bhushan.

2 min read
Hindi Female

The Government of India on Monday, 25 January, announced the winners of the 2021 Padma awards, with former Japan Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, late singer SP Balasubrahmanyam, sand artist Sudarshan Sahoo as well as archaeologist BB Lal among those having been awarded the Padma Vibhushan.

The Padma Vibhushan is the country’s second-highest civilian award, after the Bharat Ratna.

Former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, who passed away in November 2020, and late political stalwart Ram Vilas Paswan are among those who have been awarded the Padma Bhushan posthumously.

The Padma Bhushan is the third highest civilian award in the country.

Former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, former Principal Secretary to PM Nripendra Misra, former Gujarat CM late Keshubhai Patel and late religious leader Kalbe Sadiq are also among the 10 recipients of the Padma Bhushan award.


Meanwhile, former Governor of Goa Mridula Sinha, British film director Peter Brook, Father Vallés (posthumous), Professor Chaman Lal Sapru (posthumous) are among 102 recipients of the Padma Shri award.

Among those also named for the Padma Shri honour are Sindhutai Sapkal, Jaswantiben Jamnadas Popat, Parshuram Atmaram Gangavane, Namdeo C. Kamble and Girish Prabhune, as per the official notification on Monday.

Popat, 91, is one of the seven who founded the company producing the world-famous 'Lijjat Papad' in 1959, as a household venture, and making her a doyen of women's empowerment.

The Indian Union government on Monday also named six sportspersons and retired coach OM Nambiar for the Padma Shri awards. Veteran table tennis player Mouma Das, former India women's basketball team captain P Anitha, long-distance runner Sudha, former Indian wrestler Virender Singh and para athlete KY Venkatesh have been honoured with the award in the sports category.

The awards are given across various disciplines -- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service, among others.

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, the Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order, and the Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field.

The awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March or April every year.

The list, released by the government on Monday evening, comprises 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards.


Congratulations Pour In

PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and FM Nirmala Sitharaman were among those who took to Twitter soon after to congratulate the winners of the awards announced by the government.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from news and india

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More