Here’s the Lowdown on The 17 July Presidential Elections

From the prospective candidates to the Opposition’s role, we discuss the Presidential elections in detail.

2 min read
The polling for the Presidential Election will be held on 17 July. (Photo: Rhythum Seth/<b>The Quint</b>)

As the Election Commission on Wednesday set in motion the process to elect India's 14th President, the Returning Officer for the presidential poll issued a notice paving the way for filing of nominations for the 17 July contest.

Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra, the Returning Officer for the election to the office of President, issued the notice, declaring that the nomination papers may be delivered by a candidate or any of their proposers or seconders not later than 28 June.

Each nomination paper shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the entry relating to the candidate in the electoral roll for the Parliamentary constituency in which the candidate is registered as an elector, Mishra said in the notice.

The polls to elect the 15th President of India will be held on 17 July, and the nomination process will begin from 14 June.

The votes will be counted on 20 July in New Delhi, where all the ballot boxes will be brought.

Both the ruling NDA and the Opposition are yet to show their cards on the presidential candidate. While the ruling alliance is likely to announce its nominee in the next few days, the Opposition is seeking to unite all non-NDA parties under a common platform to put up a consensus candidate for the presidential election.

As per the schedule, 28 June is the last day for nominations, while a candidate can withdraw from the electoral battle till 1 July. If there is no consensus between the NDA and the opposition, the number of serious candidates in the fray will be clear by 1 July.

Candidates have been told to deposit a sum of Rs 15,000 with their nomination papers. The nomination papers, other than those rejected, will be taken up for scrutiny on 29 June.

Voting will take place on 17 July from 10 am to 5 pm at the places of polling fixed under the rules.

Various Opposition parties have already held deliberations and have decided to set up a sub group that is likely to meet within a week to build consensus on a joint candidate.

The electorate, comprising elected Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members and members of state Assemblies, is tilted in favour of the NDA, but the Opposition is trying to woo some regional parties to support their candidate.

The tenure of the present incumbent, Pranab Mukherjee, comes to an end on 24 July.

(With inputs from PTI, IANS.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!