Congress Reconstitutes CWC, Azad Dropped As General Secretary

Congress president Sonia appointed general secretaries and in-charges of All India Congress Committee.

1 min read
 Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi.

On Friday, 11 September, the Congress party announced reconstituted its highest decision making body the Congress Working Committee (CWC) as well as its Central Election Authority.

Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi appointed general secretaries and in-charges of the All India Congress Committee.

Meanwhile, in a major change, the Congress president dropped veterans Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ambika Soni, Moti Lal Vohra, Luizinho Faleiro and Mallikarjun Kharge from the list of general secretaries.

Congress Reconstitutes CWC,  Azad Dropped As General Secretary
(Image: Twitter/ANI)

Azad was one of the senior-most leaders among the group of 23 that had written a letter to Gandhi seeking organisational reforms in the party.

Only one member of the dissident group, Mukul Wasnik, has been included in a six-member committee that will work closely with the Congress president. 

The other members of the committee include Gandhi loyalists AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ambika Soni, KC Venugopal, and Randeep Singh Surjewala.

The members of the central election authority include Madhusudan Mistry as chairman, Rajesh Mishra, Krishna Byre Gowda, S Jothimani, and Arvinder Singh Lovely.

(With inputs from News18)

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!