Scindia, Sonowal Take Oath as Ministers as PM Modi Reshuffles Cabinet

This is the first cabinet reshuffle since Prime Minister Narendra Modi's re-election in 2019.

2 min read

Ahead of the crucial Assembly elections next year, 43 ministers were sworn-in as part of Narendra Modi's revamped Council of Ministers on Wednesday, 7 July.

This is the first Cabinet reshuffle since Prime Minister Narendra Modi's re-election in 2019.

While 36 new ministers were sworn in, seven were promoted to Cabinet minister rank, including Anurag Thakur and Hardeep Puri. Meanwhile, earlier in the day, 12 incumbent ministers had been removed and submitted their resignations.

The strength of PM Modi's Council of Ministers is now at 77.


Former chief ministers of Maharashtra and Assam – Narayan Rane and Sarbananda Sonowal – took oath as Cabinet ministers along with Anurag Singh Thakur and Rajya Sabha MP Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Other important leaders who were made a part of PM Modi's Cabinet included Lok Sabha MP from Bihar's Hajipur Pashupati Kumar Paras, Hardeep Singh Puri, and Kiren Rijiju.

Other ministers who took the ministerial oath of office as Cabinet ministers on Wednesday include:

  • Dr Virendra Kumar

  • Ramchandra Prasad Singh

  • Ashwini Vaishnaw

  • Raj Kumar Singh

  • Mansukh Mandaviya

  • Bhupendra Yadav

  • Parshottam Rupala

  • G Kishan Reddy

  • 01/03

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 02/03

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 03/03

    (Photo: The Quint)

    <div class="paragraphs"><p></p></div>
  • 01/07

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 02/07

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 03/07

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 04/07

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 05/07

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 06/07

    (Photo: The Quint)

  • 07/07

    (Photo: The Quint)


BJP MP in Rajya Sabha Rajeev Chandrashekhar, Lok Sabha MP from New Delhi Meenakashi Lekhi, Lok Sabha MP from Mirzapur, UP, Anupriya Singh Patel, and Lok Sabha MP from Cooch Behar, West Bengal, Nisith Pramanik also took oath as Ministers of State.

Scindia, Sonowal Take Oath as Ministers as PM Modi Reshuffles Cabinet

Other Ministers of State inducted in the ceremony were: Lok Sabha MP from Mahraganj in UP Pankaj Chaudhary, Lok Sabha MP from Agra Dr Satya Pal Singh Baghel, LS MP from Karnataka Shobha Karandlaje, LS MP from UP's Jalaun Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma, Lok Sabha MP from Surat, Gujarat, Darshana Vikram Jardosh, Jharkhand LS MP Annapurna Devi, LS MP from Chitradurga in Karnataka A Narayanaswamy, LS MP from Mohanlalganj in UP Kaushal Kishore, LS MP from Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar Ajay Bhatt as well as Rajya Sabha MP for UP B L Verma, LS MP in Kheri Ajay Kumar, LS MP from Kheda, Gujarat Chauhan Devusinh.

Bhagwanth Khuba, Kapil Moreshwar Patil, Pratima Bhoumik, Dr Subhas Sarkar, Dr Bhagwat Kishanrao, Dr Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Dr Bharati Pravin Pawar, Shantanu Thakur, Bishweswar Tudu, M Mahendarbhai, John Barla, Dr L Murugan also took their oaths as Ministers of State on Wednesday.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!