BJP Revamps Parliamentary Board, Drops Nitin Gadkari, Shivraj Singh Chouhan

BS Yediyurappa, Sarbananda Sonowal, and K Laxman are among the new additions to the board.

2 min read
Hindi Female

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday, 17 August, dropped Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan from its parliamentary board.

Headed by the party's national president JP Nadda, the board also included new additions such as BS Yediyurappa, Sarbananda Sonowal, and K Laxman.

The board now consists of the following BJP leaders:

  • JP Nadda

  • Narendra Modi

  • Rajnath Singh

  • Amit Shah

  • BS Yediyurappa

  • S Sonowal

  • K Lakshman

  • Iqbal Singh Lalpura

  • Sudha Yadav

  • Satyanarayan Jatiya

  • BL Santosh

BS Yediyurappa, Sarbananda Sonowal, and K Laxman are among the new additions to the board.

Lalpura will be the first Sikh to have a seat in the BJP parliamentary board as a person from a minority community.

An incident which stands out in Lalpura's legacy is from 1981. He was one of three officers who had arrested militant leader Jarnail Singh Bhindranwale, in a case related to a clash between some Sikhs and Nirankari sect members.

Meanwhile, Yediyurappa thanked Prime Minister Modi and Amit Shah for giving him the opportunity to serve on the "Parliamentary Board and Central Election Committee."

He said in a tweet, "It is an honour to serve on the highest decision-making body of the party."


BJP Rejigs Central Election Committee

The party also constituted its Central Election Committee on Wednesday, adding Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union Minister Bhupender Yadav, MP Om Mathur, and its women wing chief Vanathi Srinivasan to the panel.

Shahnawaz Hussain and Jual Oram were dropped from the party's polling body.


'Will Boost BJP Workers' Morale': CM Bommai on BSY's Appointment

Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai expressed his happiness over the appointment of his predecessor BS Yediyurappa as a member of the BJP parliamentary board.

Bommai called on Yediyurappa and congratulated him for the new responsibility.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from news and india

Topics:  BJP   BJP Parliamentary Board 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More