‘New Hope For Tripura,’ Says PM Modi as Biplab Cabinet Takes Oath

Leaders of opposition Left parties boycotted the swearing in to protest post-poll violence in Tripura.

2 min read
‘New Hope For Tripura,’ Says PM Modi as Biplab Cabinet Takes Oath

Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Biplab Kumar Deb took oath as the Chief Minister of Tripura on Friday, 9 March. Deb will lead the BJP-IPFT alliance government, that ousted the CPI(M)-led Manik Sarkar government in the Assembly elections. Jishnu Debbarma took oath as deputy CM.

Biplab Kumar Deb takes oath.
(Photo: ANI)

Speaking at the ceremony, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that the 2018 Tripura elections was a historical verdict. “In the history of India, there are some elections that will always be discussed. The 2018 Tripura elections will be one such example. People will continue to discuss these polls,” he said.

BJP chief Amit Shah, CMs of various BJP-led states joined outgoing Chief Minister Manik Sarkar and former ministers of his Cabinet at the swearing-in ceremony at the Assam Rifles ground.

Former CM of Tripura Manik Sarkar, Senior BJP leaders LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi & HM Rajnath Singh at the swearing in ceremony of Biplab Deb and other ministers. 
(Photo: ANI)

BJP Leaders Flock to Tripura, Left Skips Event

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was received by State Governor Tathagatha Roy and Biplab himself as he reached Agartala for the ceremony, ANI reported.

BJP chief Amit Shah visited the temple of the Goddess Tripura Sundari before heading to the venue of the ceremony.


“As I get ready to join swearing in of CM Biplab Kumar Deb, I again take this opportunity to thank people of #Tripura for posing their faith in us, and our karyakartas for their great efforts,” BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted ahead of the swearing in.

Meanwhile, leaders of opposition Left parties boycotted the event to protest post-poll violence in the state. Left Front convener and CPI(M) state secretary Bijan Dhar told PTI. "The outgoing chief minister and his ministers will attend the swearing-in ceremony. Left parties have also been invited to join it. But we will not go there to protest against the post-poll violence," Dhar said, as reported by PTI.

(With inputs from PTI)

(This is a developing story and will be updated)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from news and india

Topics:  BJP   Tripura   Manik Sarkar 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News