Bihar Polls: PM Modi, Amit Shah Thank State For Trusting NDA

The BJP emerged as the single-largest party within the NDA, with the outfit winning at least 64 seats.

2 min read
File image of PM Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday, 10 November, thanked the voters of Bihar for “trusting the NDA” in the state after the alliance gained an edge in the Assembly election results. The BJP emerged as the single-largest party within the NDA, by winning at least 64 seats.

“Each and every voter of Bihar clearly stated that their priority is only development,” PM Narendra Modi tweeted, after almost 16 hours since counting began.

The prime minister added that the people of Bihar have responded to ‘sabka saath, sabka vikaas.’

PM Modi praised the determination and dedication of all the NDA workers. He said: “Democracy has once again won in Bihar with the blessings of people.”

“The blessings of the NDA’s good governance again after 15 years in Bihar shows what Bihar’s dreams are, what Bihar’s expectations are,” he added.

The congratulations from several BJP leaders started pouring in on Tuesday even before the Election Commission finished counting the votes, once it became clear that the NDA were within reach of a victory.

Home Minister Amit Shah was the first BJP leader to thank people of Bihar for ‘choosing development, progress’.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh said that people showed trust in the party’s ‘development for all’ motto.

BJP President JP Nadda tweeted that he “wholeheartedly congratulated and thanked the people of Bihar for today's mandate.”

Bihar’s Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi took to Twitter to thank all Biharis for choosing “development and good governance.”

Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman tweeted that delivering on promises and performance of BJP under the leadership of PM Narendra Modi is well recognised.

Union Minister Piyush Goyal also tweeted and said that people trust PM Modi's leadership and development-based politics. He also congratulated JP Nadda and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on their hard work.

Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad posted a series of tweets where he thanked the people of Bihar for “reposing their trust in NDA once again”. He went on to congratulate PM Modi, Nitish Kumar, JP Nadda and the party cadres.

Lok Janshakti Party’s National President Chirag Paswan also declared victory for the BJP and PM Modi. “People of Bihar have expressed confidence in PM Modi. It is clear from the results that there is enthusiasm in the people for the BJP. This is the victory of Prime Minister Narendra Modi,” Paswan said.

The JD(U)-led NDA returned to power on Tuesday after winning more than 122 seats, securing a fourth term for Nitish Kumar as the chief minister of the state.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!