CPI(M)’s Minakshi Mukherjee to Contest From Nandigram

The Left-Congress-ISF announced that the youth leader will be contesting for the Nandigram seat.

1 min read
CPI(M) youth leader Minakshi Mukherjee

The Left-Congress-Indian Secular Front (ISF) alliance on Wednesday, 10 March, named CPI(M)'s Minakshi Mukherjee as the candidate from the highly-contested Nandigram seat.

Left Front chairman Biman Bose announced that Mukherjee would be contesting for the Nandigram seat against Chief Minster Mamata Banerjee from TMC, and newly inducted BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari at a press conference.

Nandigram was the Assembly constituency of Adhikari prior to his resignation from the Trinamool Congress (TMC). Adhikar had joined the BJP in December last year.

TMC leader and Adhikari’s former associate, Mamata Banerjee’s nomination from Nandigram this time around is a direct challenge to him, whose tumultuous exit from the party was followed by many others leaving the TMC for the BJP.

Among other student leaders, the CPI(M) has also fielded JNUSU President and Students' Federation of India leader Aishe Ghosh to contest the Assembly elections from Paschim Bardhaman district’s Jamuria.


(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!