Honours For IAF Pilot Abhinandan’s & Balakot Air Strike Squadrons

The number 9 squadron which carried out the Balakot aerial strikes will also awarded the unit citation.

Updated06 Oct 2019, 08:28 AM IST
1 min read

Indian Air Force Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman’s 51 Squadron will be awarded a unit citation by IAF Chief Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria for thwarting a Pakistani aerial attack and shooting down a Pakistani F-16 on 27 February, ANI reported.

The award will be received by Commanding Officer Group Captain Satish Pawar.

The number 9 squadron whose Mirage 2000 fighter aircrafts carried out the Balakot aerial strikes on 26 February during 'Operation Bandar', will also be awarded the unit citation.

Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal’s 601 Signal unit will also be awarded the unit citation for their role in the Balakot aerial strikes and for thwarting the aerial attack by Pakistan on February 27, ANI added.

Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman, was captured by Pakistan in February 2018 and returned to India two days later.

(With inputs from ANI)

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

The Quint is now available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, Click here to join.

Published: 06 Oct 2019, 05:04 AM IST

Never Miss Out

Stay tuned with our weekly recap of what’s hot & cool by The Quint.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!