Govt Snubs ICCW, President Gives Kids New Excellence Awards

The winners have been given a medal, Rs 1 lakh in cash, book vouchers worth Rs 10k, a certificate and a citation,

Hot News
3 min read
President Ram Nath Kovind presents Bal Shakti Puraskar 2019 in the field of innovation to Aswath Suryanarayanan sports to Angel Vijay Deokule during the Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019 function at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday, 22 January, handed over the Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puruskar to 26 children for excellence in various fields. These awards have replaced the Indian Council for Children Welfare (ICCW)-organised Bravery Awards following a controversy involving financial embezzlement by the NGO. The awards include multiple categories.

The Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puruskar includes six awards for innovation, three each for scholastic and social achievements, five for art and culture, six for outstanding performance in sports, and three for bravery. Further, there is a Bal Kalyan Puruskar category which honours two individuals and three institutions for children's

The ICCW had been organising the National Bravery Awards since 1957. For this year, too, they had shortlisted 21 children for the national award and sent the names to the Prime Minister's Office, reported NDTV. However, they recieved no response.


Reportedly, the Centre dissociated itself from the National Bravery Awards after the ICCW was put under the scanner by the Delhi High Court over concerns related to the financial integrity of the NGO.

According to TOI, the ICCW, despite the Centre’s snub, went ahead and gave their National Bravery Award to the children identified by them. These children, however, will not receive the honour of participating in the Republic Day parade, said TOI.

The winners decided by the Centre, who were felicitated by the President, have each been given a medal, a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh, book vouchers worth Rs 10,000, a certificate and a citation, reported IANS. The award for the winning institution consisted of a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a medal, a certificate and a citation.

Bal Shakti Puruskar for Bravery

The three winners of the bravery award, reported TOI, were now 18-year-old Nikhil Dayanad Jituri, 10-year-old Adrika Goyal and 14-year-old Kartik Goyal.

According to TOI, Jituri saw a two-year-old child fall into a 150-ft deep well, and without the slightest hesitation, jumped into the well after him and saved the child's life.

10-year-old Adrika and 14-year-old Kartik were given their award for selflessly providing food, water and first aid to passengers of a train that was overtaken by rioters during the Bharat Bandh in MP's Morena in April 2018.


17-year-old Shiangi Pathak was honoured in the field of sports, for being the youngest girl to conquer Mount Everest, reported TOI. Shiangi had already climbed Mt Kilimanjaro and Mt Elbrus in the past.

Other children to have won the award in the field of sports were Angel Vijay Deokule, Anish, Priyam Tated, Esow and R Praggnanandhaa

Innovation and Scholastic

The winners for innovation were Mohammad Alimpasha, Arunima Sen, Aswath Sen, Naisargik Lenka, AU Nachiketh Kumar and Madhav Lavkare, reported TOI.

The winners for scholastics were Ayshman Tripathy, Megha Bose and Nishant Dhankar.


Arts and Culture

According to TOI, Raam M, Dushyant Joshi, Vinayaka M, Aryaman Agarwal and Truputraj Pandya were awarded for excelling in arts and culture. Reportedly, Agarwal had decided to donate the cash component he got as part of the award.

Social Service

Eiha Dixit, Aryaman Lokhatia and Prathyaksha BR were honoured for their social service, reported TOI.

Six-year-old Eiha Dixit is, reportedly, an environmentlist who had planted 2,500 saplings on her last birthday and promotes forestation as a way to celebrate happy occasions.

Bal Kalyan Puruskar

The Bal Kalyan Puruskar was awarded to individuals and institutitions who have made big contributions in areas of child development, child protection and child welfare.

Sridhar Reddy Armulla was awarded for conducting free dental check-ups and providing treatment to over 8.5 lakh children, including many who live on the streets, reported TOI. Armulla also runs homes for homeless children.

Tashi Namgyal of Himachal Pradesh was felicitated for his efforts to educate poor children.

The winners of the institutional prizes were Rangakahale, Samugam Trust and Hand in Hand India.

(With inputs from NDTV, TOI, IANS.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!